We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick break in scotland”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed September 29, 2013

good overnight stay, the hotel especially the dining room is in dire need of an overhaul. Great food and plenty of it as well as very friendly, helpful staff more than made up for the condition of the building. Great central location to explore Callander and the trossachs, would recommend thia hotel and i will use it again.

Room Tip: rooms to the front have views of high street and local scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

with the weather being so good yesterday we decided to have a wee day trip to callendar we then decided to have something to eat after looking about we went to try the mc nab restaurant in the hotel worst decision that i made we had ordered asoft drink and a pint of heavy didnt have it on draught so it was a can instead we then placed our meal ordered .When our meal came my hubby had ordered fish and chips it was burnt and the fish was as dry as a bone he complained and they gave him another meal but still charged us for it there were no waiting staff tables were littered with dirty dishes poor show we will never use this restaurant again sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lorwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked a cheap deal through Easy-Breaks, without checking on Trip-Adviosor and regretted it. The service in the Hotel was atrocious. On the first evening there was no bus party and we managed to get our meal within a reasonable time. However the next day the bus party arrived and we were totally ignored by the waiters/waitresses....e.g. it took us 2 hours to get our breakfast.
The room was dreadful, the shower produced so little water and was either scalding hot or freezing cold. When we complained we were told that it was the water pressure and all the rooms were the same. The hot water tap at the sink in our room had no trouble with the water pressure. The beds were small and uncomfortable.
The car park gave us our first impression ...what a dump, and sadly we left with the same impression. We will definitely not return, no matter what the price.
The only good part of our stay was the pub along the road which had a great band playing Scottish & Irish folk music on the Sunday night.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment I walked towards the door of the Dreadnought I felt welcome. However the check in was functional, we were handed our key and with no information about dining, drinking or entertainment and with a wave of a hand told us where the lift was. My case was delivered to our room but my partner had to wait for hers and finally received the wrong case, (our party had big yellow labels).
We had to go up and down to our room using a lift which certainly raised my eyebrows as there was no interior door. You opened the door on your floor and stood in a open fronted box. We were met at the door of the restaurant but service here was 'a bit long winded'. However no fault can be found on the politeness or efficiency of the staff during our stay.
The room was small but not a problem because with excursions booked we weren't planning on spending much time in it. I found the decor a bit bland. However I did think the bathroom was very cold.
Location of the Dreadnought is fantastic and my initial findings of the hotel were okay but overall I think it depends on an individuals expectations. It's better than some I've stayed but worse than others but not a lot. But moaning asside I did enjoy my time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotel a bit tired but in the process of updating with new lounge furniture fitted during our stay and said to be closing for two weeks in November to refurbish rooms. Food and service excellent. Lift very unpredictable. Hotel is well sited for Callander centre and visits to Trossachs and Stirling ( hourly bus service). Value for money as long as your expectations are not too high.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel very tired, in dire need of refurbishment,on arrival manager/duty,could hardly be bothered to get up from his seat in back office to check us in.He did so with as little warmth and effort possible. Told us the usual info bar and restaurant served food till 9pm.
Bed linen clean,but room needs good clean,very dusty. Went down to dinner around 8.20pm,only to be told that chef had finished and kitchen was closed. Not at all happy! On a cold wet Sunday night in Callendar we eventually found a fantastic upmarket chippy that were only to happy to serve us ,food delicious at Mhor. Not the best advert at The Dreadnought for tourisim,I for one won't be back .

Room Tip: there are none!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were taking our elderly aunt away for a nite stay, so i phoned the dreadnought to ask if there would be some kind of entertainment on the night i was going to book. It was either the manager or his deputy i spoke to, and he said yes he would either have a singer or a group on.So i said you are sure, and he said yes. So my wife and i booked b&b and evening meal for ourself and our aunt, who likes to be entertained for a couple of hours. When we arrived we had lunch in the bar area, which was nice enough. We then noticed people arriving dressed for a wedding. we did not think much of it, until we booked in and the girl says because of the wedding evening meal will be served in a room upstairs. We then asked about the entertainment, to which she says that because they had a wedding there would not be any. I told here i had been assured and she said that the wedding had been booked well in advance, so there would never be any.She said she can only say sorry, but as i said we would not have booked otherwise, then of course to make matters worse we had to go elsewhere for a drink as the wedding party had also taken over the lounge bar. All in all a complete let down, the only upside was the evening meal was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crags Hotel
Crags Hotel
#20 of 34 in Callander
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing