We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We didnt have any problems at Dreadnought,we spent 5 days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.We were with a coach party and all the staff at the hotel were very friendly.Yes....it does need updating,but at The Dreadnought,you get what you pay for...a budget hotel! It's not The Ritz...But who cares! The only downside we could find,was the service in the dining room....they need more staff,again the food wasn't great,but it was edible.All in all...A good Hotel. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: If all is not well in your room,report it straight away and t5he problem will be solved,to the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scousersue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    141
See reviews for
63
228
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paisley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

laid back hotel, great staff but don't expect any sort of luxury. bar and restaurant underused but have great potential. owner obviously has no love of the place. fantastic view on front facing rooms but not facing into room.

Room Tip: limited rooms with showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stphnmcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

terrible hotel and absolutely terrible for functions!!!! Rubbish service and very tired rooms with awful decor. Cant say much else just that we will never be back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Callander hotels

allison659
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is cean, comfortable, and a complete bargain, epsecially for single travellers. I booked 2 single rooms (due to a snoring friend), and at £25 each,they were a steal. The rooms were a little on the "tired" side, but the price refelects this, and I think it's more than a fair price. Breakfast was great, served in a beautiful dining room with linen tablecloths and chandeliers. The staff were friendly and cheerful, and we had a really great time. There are large gardens and a car park. I think some of the reviews are a bit harsh: what do people expect for that price? I would definitely stay here again. The regal grandeur is fading a bit, but the food, staff and location more than make up for this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

This Hotel looks really promising from the outside - but inside it is shabby and uncared for - my single room was very shabby and dirty. The windows didn't open and there was a lot of mould in the tiny shower room. The sheets and towels were of a high hotel standard but that was about it. It is a beautiful building with enormous potential but uncared for - Before you even get in there were a row of four rotting barrels with rotting plants. On the plus side the staff are lovely and incredibly helpful and despite their obvious frustrations with the limitations of the 'stuck in the 70s' shabby decor they soldier on. This is quite possibly the most depressing hotel environment I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishcolleen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my husband & our two friends on the DBB & 5 drinks offer, and by the cheap price we should have expected what we got!!

Someone was in bed in the room our friends were allocated, not even an apology was given.
Our room had no shower, no plug for sink or bath, you couldnt use the light due to the sound it made! there were springs hanging out of my bed, dirty cups and bugs lay in the hall the entire stay. Our room had the mirrors removed?? the chairs were badly torn and our view was a dumping ground piles of discarded garden furniture and abandoned caravans. Food was pretty horrible, especially breakfast. We all ordered the same thing but all got a different plate of Scottish breakfast, you could have built a wall with the tattle scones!
I expected cheap and cheerful but we just got cheap. It was faulty towers, we got to a point we couldn't stop laughing!! On the upside the all inclusive drinks were known brands and the karaoke entertainment was good fun, would we go back.....not on your nelly!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkies13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

filthy rooms no showers rooms that should cary a health warning. cracks in staircase walls carpets dirty and threadbear ,open ended pipe work skip out side front door scaffolding allover a car park with a derelict portacabin to park you're pride and joy next to all in all not good perhaps they should have closed while the work is being done.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments that you left on Tripadvisor, just to let you know that I take them very seriously indeed . I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay while the well overdue renovations where being done and the maintenance inside is on-going . I hope to see you again sometime in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing