We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house in a great location”
Review of Coppice House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coppice House
Ranked #1 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the moment we arrived, Pete could not have been more hospitable or helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were staying for four nights for our niece's wedding, along with other members of our family. It was just perfect, as we had a lovely lounge we could all socialise in. The bedrooms and bathrooms were beautifully decorated and very clean. The breakfast was lovely and really set you up for the day!

Would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone thinking of staying in Callander.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 341 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Coppice a few weeks ago, and it was immediately obvious why this charming B & B is so highly regarded. Our room was unusually spacious, immaculate, nicely-decorated and full of amenities. The shower was strong, with lots of hot water. The breakfasts were excellent. The location is very good, at the edge of the little village, so a bit quieter. But the primary reason this is such a wonderful place to stay is Pete, the ideal innkeeper. The personality of an innkeeper can make or break a place, and Pete is an easy-going, intelligent and wonderfully friendly person who is a delight to chat with and is committed to making you happy. Nothing more needs to be said. You cannot go wrong staying here. As an aside, we'd recommend you head over to Loch Katrine, which is drop-dead lovely, and take a ride on the historic steamer Sir Walter Scott or simply walk the path around the lake. Utterly serene.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank windatourbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Pete runs the Coppice House (named for a nearby thicket or dense growth of small trees or bushes) in Callander in The Trossachs. He took good care of our every need, including his hearty Scottish breakfast. For dinner, he suggested a walk to The Lade Inn, but it and The Byre Inn were fully booked; instead, we had a delicious meal at Brig o' Turk Tearoom. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oesy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here and found it to be an excellent base to explore Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. I was particularly grateful for the large collection of maps Coppice House (which can be freely borrowed for the day) as well as the wealth of local knowledge that Pete eagerly shares. The breakfast is terrific and the rooms clean and very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to do some cycling and really enjoyed our stay. The room (superior double) was spacious and very comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. Breakfast included fresh fruit and a choice of cooked items. Pete was very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of useful advice about places to eat and visit on our bikes. We would like to visit Callander again as there is lovely scenery and many walks and and bike rides on the doorstep and we would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devoncyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed over for one night with a friend whilst on our Harley Davidson motorcycling break around Northumberland and Scotland. Pete welcomed us on arrival with a smile and was very friendly and helpful. He showed us our rooms and made us a pot of tea to enjoy in the lounge which has a lovely view. The whole house is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was excellent with a choice of teas, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was first class and the attention to detail Pete and Kate put in to the presentation of the breakfast buffet and the full Scottish cooked breakfast was second to none. The range of teas and jams/marmalades available was fantastic.I have stayed in many B&B's over the years but this has to be head and shoulders above the rest!!! Well done Pete and Kate and if I get up to Scotland again I willl be phoning you to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a 2,5 Weeks tour troughout Schotland and this was the best B&b we have stayed. Very luxurious, very friendly owners with only three(huge) rooms. Location is practically in the Parc near the bird trails. We highly recommend this stay if you are looking for a place nearby loch lomond or stirling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.8 mi away
Glengarry Guest House
Glengarry Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 34 in Callander
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rosebank House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
350 reviews
18.6 mi away
Culag Lochside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coppice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coppice House

Address: Coppice House Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $91 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coppice House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice guesthouse, situated in the picturesque village of Callander, is an ideal place to stay and explore the Trossachs in Scotland. The Coppice is a small, family run guesthouse with three bedrooms all featuring ensuite shower rooms, and a comfortable lounge for the use of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Coppice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coppice House Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing