We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Scottish Food”
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good Scottish Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had an evening meal at this venue while recently visiting Callander. The quality of the food was excellent and the sevice was fast and efficient. However, because we visited the hotel at a busy time, we thought it was just a little noisy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    89
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pleasant rather than great”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Ate here on recommendation of our b&b and after seeing other TripAdvisor reviews. It was fine but not overwhelming. Staff were friendly and pub is clean and welcoming, but my chicken was a little dry and my husband's duck was slightly over done. Nothing to complain about but not fantastic either. Maybe we were just unlucky?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very good value for money, nice choice from the menu, freshly cooked pub grub. The bar was very busy on the Sunday night we were there so worth booking a table

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandSBrentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening...”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a lovely meal and enjoyable evening at The Crown. The place had a nice ambience with friendly staff. The meal was freshly cooked and at a reasonable price. We will return if we stay in Callander again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAJSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top food”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had the steak pie and it was one of the finest I have ever eaten plentiful and tasty beer was good cask ales and the service was very friendly

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing