We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great loctation but needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highland House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great loctation but needs some work”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in April with a friend. Great location, close to bars and restaurants. There is also a lovely green area at the end of the street.

Room was comfy but bathroom very small and shower doesn't work. Room 7. The shower is small, slow and is either scorching hot or cold. It is unusable and very dissapointing.

Breakfast is excellent and staff very friendly and make you feel welcome.

No bagpipes unfortunately!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
58
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Not a bad stay here. The room is comfortable. Room 8. Noisy in the morning when making breakfast and they do play bagpipes and other instruments to make sure you're up.
Noisy toilet sanitary system.
Breakfast is edible though using cheapest ingredients, think supermarket own brand.
Friendly owner and good bike storage.
Difficult to park outside.
Has free wifi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GlennTSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of Jan, Tom is an excellent host with his hard working partner Angela. They could not have been more accommodating or helpful. If you like a bit of banter, Tom Is happy to play his part. The accommodation is good value for money. Will definitely be returning later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fenland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this lovely hotel right in the centre of Callander. The room, although in need of an update was adequate for our needs with a comfortable bed and warm central heating. We enjoyed a beautifully cooked Scottish breakfast each morning and Angela & Tom were friendly and good hosts - what more could you ask for. Well worth the visit and a very enjoyable stay. We also managed to park on the road outside the hotel which was a plus. Thank you, Angela & Tom - forget to mention the bagpipes - nice touch Tom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 beaut nights at this lovely little hotel. This was a perfect base for exploring Callander, Balquhidder and surrounding area. My husband and I had the double and our young adult son, the single room in our 'private' apartment at the top of the winding 'watch-your-head' tartain-carpeted stairs. Tom was a great host, the cook makes perfectly poached eggs and the stunning floral baskets out front are amazing. Highly recommend. :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KerenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Shown to room 5 and refused to stay, left, Wallpaper coming off walls,dampness showing and overall dated and in need of an immediate overhaul. Owner said we could take it or leave it, didn't seem too bothered!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mmmm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked my husband and I a wee overnighter at the Highland House Hotel...paid £65 for a Double room and private bathroom. When we arrived Tony showed us to our bedroom, he told us there was a sink in the bedroom, but we weren't to turn on the taps, as they weren't working. And, across the landing was our "private bathroom"!!! So, everytime we needed the "loo" or wanted to fill up our kettle we had to nip across the landing...not ideal eh? Also, there were tea making facilities in all rooms. On the tray were two teabags and two coffee sachets, so please remember to take your own supplies! Can I add, in the bathroom there was only one toilet roll provided, so remember (again) to take extra supplies!
Best part of the trip.....instead of a morning "gong" Tony played the bagpipes in the morning! Also, serenaded some French who were visiting...excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoolallyMcInally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
405 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Hotel

Property: Highland House Hotel
Address: 8 South Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Highland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Callander
Highland House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing