We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay here good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay here good location”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend the night here to bring in the new year, We enjoy the peace and setting of callander,Found the room we had number 5 cosy and comfy ,Tom the owner informed us breakfast was at 8.30 on new years day or sooner if we preferred, breakfast was plentiful and tasty ,The room was basic but had everything you needed for an overnight stay,We would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
19
61
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This guest house has received a lot of great reviews on trip advisor so I had high expectations, but unfortunately these were not met.
The owners were really friendly and hospitable but I was disappointed by the quality of this guest house. I chose to move rooms after being put in a rather claustrophobic single room and went into a double.
I would say the decor is what made the place feel dingy and unclean to me. My room had mismatched furniture, exposed plumbing, and water damage on one wall which they've tried their best to distract from.
They have a cat, which is lovely but i'm allergic to cats and couldn't sit in the communal lounge.
Breakfast was lovely and I think it's only the decor that lets this guest house down. But if you can see past that, then there is no reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Barra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had just one night in Callander and stayed at the Highland House Hotel the room was clean and tidy with a good shower and really cosy. The breakfast was great kept me going all day.Good value would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed three nights at Highland House Hotel. On the plus side, it is very central and was very reasonably priced in October. It was very clean and the breakfast was lovely. The owner, Tom, was very entertaining, friendly and attentive. We had three rooms - 1 double and 2 singles.
It is just round the corner from the Waverley pub where we had several good meals.
On the downside - the single rooms are very small and the walls very thin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erftstadt/ Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed 2 nigths recently and were impressed by the friendlyness and helpfulness of the owners. Excellent Breakfast, room was clean and big enough for the two of us and our luggage. Central location but not loud. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

the communal areas are well kept and clean. the owners are helpful and pleasant. it's centrally located and is reasonably priced. breakfast is good.

that's the good points. the bad points are based on the room i was given, it was top floor and was in the eaves which meant the room was very small and felt claustrophobic. the room was dated, and the ensuit was equally as grim; dark, small and dated. the room had two single beds (twin), which were close together. the worst part of the room was a hole in the ceiling caused by flooding from the roof.

i'm an easy going person who doesn't make a fuss; but really, letting rooms with holes in the room, is somewhat unacceptable. like i say i didn't complain, but there's many people who would've found somewhere else.

in conclusion, i'd say, it's fine to stay here if it's cheaper than the alternatives.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the top floor !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very clean and comfortable stay. Breakfast by 9am on a Sunday was a bit harsh when most guests had been attending weddings the night before. However the breakfast was very acceptable entertainly served by Tom. A great start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Hotel

Property: Highland House Hotel
Address: South Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Highland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Callander
Highland House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing