We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
hants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned after having spent three days at the Highland Hotel. It is a wonderful hotel run by Tom and Angela. Spotlessly clean, with a wonderful cooked Scottish Breakfast. Very central to everywhere in Callender. We thorughly enjoyed ourselves and with Tom's brilliant humour made our stay really enjoyable. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritahanna759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
58
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very enjoyable stay and Tom and Angela made us very welcome. Excellent breakfast. Room very comfortable. Very good value for money. Ideal location for touring the area. Would definitely return if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aintree, Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose Highland house even after reading some negative feedback which alluded to the previous owner, this review is for Angela and Tom Jones..

We were greeted in a very warm and friendly manner by Tom, who showed us to our room, we were slightly disappointed as we had been promised the four poster room, but were given another. The Room was very clean, probably the cleanest we have stayed in out of several B&B's in the past.
The "Hotel" has changed it's name on the front of the building to guest house/B&B, a far more appropriate title.

Highland House does have a small and fairly well equipped bar, and Tom is always very accomodating on purchases from the bar.

The bed was very comfortable, and after a 300 mile motorcycle ride to Callander, and several beers after arriving, a great nights sleep was had.

Breakfast was good, if I am being a little pernickety, the cooked breakfast was well cooked and presented, but not the best quality ingredients. However, being realistic and taking into account the cost of the room, and the standards of service, I cannot grumble.

Tom and Angela are very knowledgable about the area, and reccomended several different restaurants, we chose to eat at the super "Mhor Fish" which is a sort of "Gastro Chippy".. I promise you will not eat finer Fish and Chips...

Would we stay again? Definitely. Could anything be improved? Not Really for the price you are paying. Tom and Angela deserve every success with their B&B/Guest House, they are attentive, courteous and very helpful. Reccomended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We wanted to have a short weekend in our favourite place, Callander. This little hotel was clearly kept well. The welcome was warm and unobtrusive. The accommodation was quite special, not normally what youd get in a small Scottish B&B hotel. We could not fault the rooms, ensuite faculties or public areas. The breakfast was superb too with charming service. A bonus of course is the hotel's location - so central but still quiet with free street parking. My wife and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpoziemski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were visiting family with our 17 month old boy. Angela and Tom were very helpful when arranging the the travel cot and high chair. The family room was big enough for the 3 of us and was very clean. Breakfast was served at a reasonable time and a wide variety of items were offered. There is also a living room area downstairs that was open to guests. Us as parents found this helpful and meant we did not have to sit upstairs every night. Overall our stay was a wonderful experience and we hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzyfrazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Lovely overnight stay at the Highland Hotel. Tom and Angela, the Proprietors, are a lovely couple and couldn't have made us more welcome. Bedroom was cosy but in a place like Callander/The Trossachs, I'm only in my room to do the necessary and I'm out again! The bedroom was spotless and comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent, served with Tom's great sense of humour.

I would and certainly will recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you are visiting Highland and lookin for a nice and clean hotel, than Highland House Hotel is the one for you. We had an excellent time. The owners were very friendly and made us excellent breakfast. The rooms are good sized.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
405 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Hotel

Property: Highland House Hotel
Address: 8 South Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Highland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Callander
Highland House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing