We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden House, Callander
Ranked #14 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the best B & B I've ever stayed at. Beautiful, tranquil setting just by the woods leading to Bracklinn Falls and with terrific views. Lovely elegant house and comfortable rooms plus lots of personalised touches. The Pringles are the kindest, most hospitable people possible, in the best Scottish tradition and constantly think of the comfort of their guests. Breakfast to die for, looking out on the lovely garden and out to the hills beyond. Plus a nostalgic link to the 1960's BBC series Dr.Finlay's casebook. I'll be returning - this is a gem of a place.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have superb views whilst downstairs room looks onto tranquil garden. All are very com...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseTarnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Arden House, Callander
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a lovely 2days staying in Arden house. The Pringle could not have been more welcoming with lovely personal touches and superb breakfast especially dawn's stewed fruit. The walk up to Bracklinn falls was excellent and very close to Arden house. This is the best. B&b in Callander. Highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Dr Finlay room on 1st floor had lovely view over the hills
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely b&b. All three family members at some point went out of their way to provide advice, reservations, travel maps and other supports to our travel. The "extras" were exceptional, including tea and encouragement as we wrestled with some writing. The place is quiet, and right near enjoyable walking trails. A real treat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D'Arcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Arden House during our recent tour of Scotland. The house sits on a hill above the town of Callender, near the trailhead to the Bracklinn Falls. Dawn was the perfect hostess who made us feel right at home upon arrival, provided home baked cupcakes and other treats to our room for an afternoon snack, and gave us great advice on local activities and restaurants. We stayed in the Dr. Finlay room (named after the lead character of the BBC television series that used photos of the exterior of this manor house as the fictitious setting for the Dr. Finlay's Casebook show of the 1960's). This room had a nice view toward the town, lovely furnishings, a comfortable bed and adequate bathroom ensuite. Breakfasts were served in a beautiful sunlit dining area. There is free parking available in the back of the house. Overall, a lovely stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment we checked in nothing was too much trouble for Dawn the Owner, every little detail had been catered for down to bottles of water, chocolates & even a nice pot of tea and cupcakes to welcome you to this beautiful area of Scotland.
We would highly recommend staying here as the House is away from the hustle & bustle of the High Street but close enough to walk for dinner. We stayed in the Tannochbrae Suite which was upstairs & had lovely views down the valley to the River and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you want views and the Tannochbrae Suite is particularly lovely...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieH476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Warm welcome with deliciouse homemade cake, when we arrived. Fantastic breakfast with fresh fruits,Cereals, homemade bakery ( Dawn is a Great baker), cooked specialities, Yoghurts, Juices etc.
Dawn and Gary Avery helpful and nice hosts. Also the are the new Inneres and just took over in August 2012, there is nothing they could do better.
Arden House is settled not at the Main Road but at the Edge of the Woods wit nice views. the decoration is selected careful and we liked the fresh flowers everywhere.
WE will be back to this perfect place to explore Scotland.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs of you want a view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at Arden house with my mum and dad for 2 nights, and we all felt so welcomed and looked after! Dawn and Gary were lovely and we really enjoyed staying there! Gorgeous rooms for all of us, great breakfast... (too much of it!) and beautiful location!! And my whole family loooved Dawn´s homemade carrot cake..couldnt ask for more!! Thank you very much for making our stay so lovely! :)

From the Del Amo family

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 34 in Callander
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House, Callander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House, Callander

Address: Arden House Bracklinn Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $123 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arden House...Arden House is a Victorian stone built property situated in one of the finest positions in Callander. The house stands peacefully in its own attractive gardens overlooking the village, with panoramic views of nearby Ben Ledi and the surrounding countryside and hills. Arden House has ample private parking space, and is only a few minutes walk from the village centre. Callander is known worldwide as 'Tannochbrae,' made famous by the BBC TV series 'Dr Finlay's Casebook.' Arden House was the television home of Drs. Finlay and Cameron and their housekeeper, Janet! Today, we offer three individually styled en suite B&B rooms plus a self-catering studio apartment for two guests. We welcome you to enjoy our relaxing accommodation in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park – the perfect location to enjoy some of the finest scenery in Scotland. The village is centrally located, ideal for sightseeing – Stirling, Oban, St Andrews, the East and West coasts are all within easy reach. Callander is just an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arden House, Callander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House, Callander Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing