We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a quiet picnic”

Bracklinn Falls Bridge and Callander Crags
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for a quiet picnic”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Bracklinn falls were not easy to find but once we parked in the carpark marked for the walkers up to the falls, it was a short and quiet walk to the falls. Tree felling on the way was a bit disquietining but the falls were well worth the visit. The wooden bridge over the falls provides great views and you can stop under the bridge or down by the falls for a quiet picnic. Water is not terribly cold so you can also stroll around in the water if you wish. We also took a walk around the falls and it did not disappoint.
One strage incident that put a dent to the whole experience was the bee attack on the way back to the car park. Both me and my husband were terrorised by a flock of bees all the way back to the car for 1 km. I have no idea why this happened as we did not step on or go near any bee nests. It may be totally random but beware in any case.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    136
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Picturesque walk with lovely views and only one part that was quite steep, the rest was a gentle slope with seats along the path to admire the view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level Contributor
222 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Falls in This Little Town”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Put on some sturdy shoes and hike down to these falls from the parking lot and you won't be disappointed. Be sure to also spray yourself for bug protection.

The falls are so beautiful and they are a photographer's dream trying to capture the water flowing over the rocks and all the different rock formations craved out by the force of the water. An iron bridge crosses over to another walking path that goes on for quite a ways up the hill. Take it. Go all the way to the top of this logging road. You won't believe the panoramic view. We even saw a possible longer walk back to the car but we had people waiting down by the bridge at the falls.

Take the walk...you will love it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery and views”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Bracklinn Falls Bridge is absolutely worth visiting - very picturesque and beautiful, especially when the river is in speight!! As are the views fron Callander Crags.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Markeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pretty.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great photo opportunities - but serious snappers should note that on hot days you need to time your arrival to miss the many people who paddle and swim in the falls. Easy walk from the top car park and worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bracklinn Falls Bridge and Callander Crags also viewed

Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Bracklinn Falls Bridge and Callander Crags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing