We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a special occasion”

Roman Camp Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Came here for a Sunday lunch to celebrate my mothers retirement and birthday. Loved sitting in the lounge with canapes and drinks while selecting from the menu. We were then called to dinner and the whole occasion was made that that bit more special. The food, I had the scallops then the rib of beef, was cooked perfectly and served beautifully definitely deserving of their AA rosettes. My only complaint would be the seating for the six of us was spread across a rectangular table which was far too big. However the staff were attentive but not overbearing and I would definitely recommend the Roman Camp for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Specialfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gartmore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As you would expect.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Good quality, well presented, good service and wonderful surroundings. Hotel is somewhat rundown but in a kind of shabby chic kind of way, dining room a bit big and lacking atmosphere but the grounds are stunning. Worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dylo-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday opening!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It was our wedding anniversary - on a Sunday! Nothing wrong with that, but finding a good restaurant open on Sunday evenings , with full service and the chef on duty is not easy. Just moved to the area and found this hotel with good reviews. It certainly lived up to its reviews. AA three rosette, and the cooking Michelin star quality. Just as important the welcome was warm (in the pouring rain), the service was friendly, discreet, and excellent, and the whole atmosphere was calm and added to the enjoyment of the food. We had the set £55 menu and from the amuse bouche to the coffee all five courses were well balanced and matched. We shall be returning, and next time we'll try what looked like a very good a la carte menu. A good wine list; not cheap, but with house wines, and a good selection of good half bottles - useful when one of the two is a driver! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a lovely setting”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My daughter's wedding at the Roman Camp Hotel next year was already booked when the (paying) parents joined them for a "reconnaissance" visit - and an excellent Sunday lunch. On a beautiful summer's day we strolled through the gardens down to the river - a glorious setting for any occasion. The hotel itself is everything it looked from the website - perhaps even more cosy and comfortable than I'd expected. With pre-lunch drinks and canapés in the library while we selected from the menu, the tone was set for a relaxed and enjoyable afternoon. The presentation and quality of each of our three courses was excellent, with very attentive service throughout. Coffee and petit-fours in the attractive drawing room rounded everything off perfectly. Can't wait for the full wedding experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortugalForGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wedding celebration”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Perfect venue for family wedding .The hotel is fabulous - full of character. The numerous public areas are beautifully decorated and very comfortable to relax in . Bedrooms are all well appointed and beds just envelope you .The food served at wedding was superb and the breakfast the next morning was very well cooked and a great choice .The quality of the coffee was the only letdown

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DP60NOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Camp Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Roman Camp Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing