We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Beauty”
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roman Camp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Beauty”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Absolutely lovely b&b. I travelled here with my sister on our Scotland road trip. The stairs creak, the rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfy, the bathroom products smell divine (Scotland Velvet Isle), the woods to the right are cool, the little meadow next to the bubbling stream to the left is peaceful, the staff are friendly, breakfast is plentiful, delicious and made to order, there is ample parking and the peacock out the front was the most sparkling cherry on top.

We arrived late at night without a booking and weren't going to stay as it was a little above our price range, but the receptionist was really lovely and offered us a discounted rate. My one and only gripe is that the bathroom windows were quite stiff and annoying to open.

Definitely recommend a night in this beautiful gem!

The top attic room where we were is lovely, but I had a peek at the others through the door when the cleaners were in there and they looked just as nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lendelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    76
    23
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
217
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The Roman camp is such a charming place! As soon as you arrive on the tree lined streets and see the spectacular gardens you know you are in a special place.

The roman camp is older which adds to it's charm. Due to age, like everything it has small defects- a scratch or small crack here or there, a toilet that doesn't flush quite right and squeaky floors. That being said, those small things don't outweigh the charm of this place and actually add to the charm.


We were there for my sister in law's wedding. We stayed in the yellow parkour which was perfect. It had a little sitting area and we loved the decor. We got to see all of our families rooms and they were all great and unique. Some smaller, some larger. The wedding was great and the hotel really seemed to go out of their way to please the bride as well as all of the guests.


The hotel also has expansive gardens and a little river which are fun to walk after a meal.

Breakfast is good and has many choices. The hotel is walkable to many restaurants/ shops in Callandar.

Other then the beds (2 twins pushed together) being hard and lumpy, I would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiffkat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We arrived right at the end of lunch service and the staff at this lovely venue fitted us in with a warm welcome. The in-laws wanted to treat us so table for 4 it was, and the service was top notch, attentive and the food was very good indeed. A set lunch with 5 courses - amuse bouche, starter, main, dessert, coffee and petit fours for £25 a head.
The hotel is beautiful inside - the dining room and all other rooms were traditionally yet luxuriously decorated. The gardens next to the river are very well kept and the peacocks wandering the grounds were the icing on the cake!
I've seen many comments about this place as a wedding venue and I echo the remarks - just lovely!
Overall, whatever time you want to dine in Callander, you won't beat this lovely hotel for style and value!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

It's hard to choose hotel just because of what you see on the internet, and it gets especially difficult and risky when one must find a beautiful place to get married in. Thankfully it showed that we had made an excellent choise when asking Roman Camp to arrange our wee wedding in July 2014. From the very first contacts by email and phone between Shona (a most lovely and friendly lady who had organized it all) and us to wawing goodbye to her and this beautiful place - all of it was just perfect! The location is amazing - just a few steps from the high street, into another world, with beautiful surroundings next to a river. Lovely, comfortable rooms, wonderful atmosphere all over the place, excellent wedding meal (on the extra plus side tasty vegetarian menu which our ladies loved) - and impressive staff! Thank you for taking care of us during our stay, we will always remember how you made our big day to become the best day!
And last but not least, a big hug to the lady who made our rooms ready for the night: thank you for seeing the soft toy bunny rabbit and making his bed comfy - you really added the extra "glazing on the cake"! Maybe it doesn't mean anything for someone else, but for my family it showed that Roman Camp staff really cares even about the small details and it made us happy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Recently spent the day and evening here for a family wedding, very beautiful and olde worlde inside. We stayed in 'South' room which was a superior room in the older part of the building and it was very comfortable, the creaking floor and wardrobes added to the charm, the bathroom was a good size and the shower was great! There are a couple of beautiful lounges downstairs to relax in, the bar has a beautiful fireplace and is very cosy and beautifully furnished, it also has a piano if you fancy playing (my nephew did a great job of entertaining the wedding guests!). The wedding meal was very good and the waiting staff did a fantastic job, especially the young man who was by my side every time my champagne glass needed refilling:):) which must have been often! Unfortunately it rained most of the day and so we didn't get the chance to see all of the hotel grounds which was a shame. If I had to 'moan' about anything it would be to say that this quality and cost of establishment 'turndown service' should be offered.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Just helped my son and new daughter in law celebrate their wedding here. What a great setting unfortunately weather not so great! All staff very attentive and friendly from our early arrival right through afternoon, staff constantly filling our glasses whilst bridal couple having photos taken. Lots of nice sitting rooms to relax in before dinner. Dinner was first class nice small breaks between courses vegetarian choices good unfortunately my son forgot to order vegetarian choice for evening buffet and nothing was offered, great choices for breakfast .Lovely suite to share with our grandson and saw other rooms all well furnished and was told next morning comfy beds, a bit expensive but a nice experience. Thank you for looking after us all Roman Camp.

Room Tip: Choose a room in original building a suite if you want to push the boat out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a beautiful old manor house (1625) extended over the centuries. The approach from Callander is a pleasant surprise Up a tree lined avenue off the high street. A very comfortable hotel, excellent rooms, with much attention paid to detail to make ones stay happy. Several sitting rooms and a small conservatory available for pre dinner drinks, or just sitting and relaxing. The location is lovely, well maintained grounds for walking, peacocks in the garden. Next to the river, where fishing is available for residents. Easy access to the Trossachs trail and country park, much to do in the area such as Stirling Castle, Bannockburn and The Kelpies. 1 hour roughly into Glasgow. We enjoyed our stay. What cost it the 5th star for us was the dinner....breakfast was excellent, but we did not feel the menu or food in the evening lived up to its reputation. An extremely 'safe' set menu, with the most odd amuse bouches ! Apricot pop in a little bottle is not my idea of a great palate cleanser, and the yoghurt with ginger foam and some kind of fruit was frankly horrible. A little savoury taster would have been better. The maître d' was rather like a priest serving communion! Apart from this dinner experience I would recommend this as a gem of an hotel tucked away in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmrsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
22.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Property: Roman Camp Hotel
Address: Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Camp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing