We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning Hotel"”
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Camp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Stunning Hotel"”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed in. Beautifully furnished, lovely gardens and pathways. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only wish we were staying more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    86
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
70
229
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from celebrating our son and beautiful daughter in law's wedding and I can't praise Roman Camp and their staff enough. From start to finish everything was perfect, from the rooms, the staff, the meal and the general relaxed feeling in the place. They say that they want you to feel at home and we did. The log fires were a bonus as it was a bit chilly outside where some of the photos were being taken in the beautiful grounds and guests wanted a quick heat when they came back inside. I would definitely recommend this as a perfect wedding venue.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfie1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We treated ourselves to an Easter meal at the Roman Camp on Easter Sunday - something we have been promising ourselves we would do for a few years. The setting was beautiful and the quality of the food lived up to its fine reputation. The whole experience was however completely spoiled by a gentleman, I assumed to be the manager or owner, loudly berating his attentive and pleasant staff full glare of the busy dining room.

The whole thing was unpleasant to witness and was quite reminiscent of an episode of Fawlty Towers. I felt for the young server being bawled at, and whatever he may or may not have done, the effect of this public outburst was much more upsetting on me. It ruined the experience for me to be honest, and I wouldn't be in a rush to return to a place where this treatment of staff is deemed acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ScotsCouple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want to get away from queues of traffic, roaring lorries, hustle and bustle, this is the place. Go back 400 years to tranquillity, extensive grounds plenty seats, and only the river making a noise. The room very comfortable, always warm and cosy, the en suite faultless. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the food, breakfast, diner and the cream tea, wonderful! We shall return.

Room Tip: As far as we could see they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoianMiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have enjoyed dinner and afternoon tea in the Roman Camp on previous visits but had never stayed over until this weekend. We stayed in the "South" superior room and were not disappointed in any way. The room was large, well furnished and suitably traditional so to meet the historic values of the hotel. Oh and the Jacuzzi was fab as was the small decanter of whisky left out with the compliments of the hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful as always and the quality of the food was first class.

Although not the cheapest place you will stay in it is worth spending that wee bit extra to enjoy the luxury and relaxation this hotel offers. Nothing to add other than a lovely hotel where you feel spoilt from the moment you arrive and sit in front of one of their many open coal fires.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stenybaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated my mum's 90th with afternoon tea and lots of champagne, in the library, in front of a log fire. Callum was a perfect host - so congenial and all our needs were so well catered for - making it a family day to remember. I stayed in the Bear's Den room which has a huge bed, gr8 jacuzzi bath, fresh fruit and the list goes on........ There is a beautiful view of the garden with a door opening out on to it. Breakfast was served by Fiona and was fantastic - a large choice of food which was cooked to perfection by one of the chefs. I highly recommend this hotel - as a country retreat - it has such a peaceful and friendly
atmosphere, an attentive staff and it's situation by the river is idyllic. My family and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank feefee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for valentines weekend . We splashed out and stayed in "Barrie" suite. From start to finish it was wonderful. We didn't have dinner in hotel as we had other plans but the breakfast were lovely and fresh.
Can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
11.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
17.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
264 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Property: Roman Camp Hotel
Address: Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Camp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing