We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover hotel”
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Camp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stopover hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great old country house with excellent location by river. Rooms very old world, clean and comfy. Breakfast great although service average, think though maybe just our waitress.
Visited the crown pub for a great nite of scotish folk music also tobe recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 280beac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    86
    24
    17
    11
See reviews for
70
229
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting for a wedding, lovely gardens and right beside the river. Food was incredible - some of the nicest we have ever been served at a wedding! Staff were attentive however they all seemed to be French and sometimes struggled to understand the Glasgow accents! Drinks were VERY expensive, over £4 for a pint of Tennents. Guests that were staying at the hotel all said the rooms were clean & comfy

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stbobulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place, loved everything about this hotel, the location was peaceful and beautiful. Fabulous grounds, with a river running along the bottom of the garden. Very romantic secluded location. The rooms were very nice the beds were huge and my personal favourite a spa bath which i loved. The fire place room was cosy and snug nice to cuddle up and have a glass of wine. Breakfast wasnt the best but they awards for their evening meals, but we cant comment because we ate out, but overal it was brillant, this hotel has set a high a standard for future places we stay at. Expensive but definatly worth it

Room Tip: We stayed in the sun dial room which looked on to a small garden and had a 7ft bed and a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in this hotel in the Starr Suite. The hotel is idyllic and really setup well. First thing to note is the food, which is fantastic! The chef here is world class and can make any food into something excellent. House is setup like something out of Agatha Christie: a sitting room, library, bar and conservatory, many with cheery fires in the fireplaces. The rooms are comfortable and ours had a sitting room as well. Grounds are incredible with manicured gardens, a mazelike garden area, a beautiful sitting area on the edge of a river and the beginning of some hiking trails. Callander is criss-crossed with many hiking trails leading to other towns, into the mountains, along rivers - it's incredible. The hotel itself is right in town but when you turn into the driveway its actually two blocks behind the Main Street and has a quiet beauty and charm. Hotel is very close to many of the natural beauty of the Trossachs and Lock Lomond national park. This part has apparently inspired many artists and writers for many years.

We loved it and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our daughter's wedding reception at the Roman Camp was simply magical, completely perfect. From booking to checkout the hotel could not possibly have been more helpful. Organised, efficient, caring, obliging, there are simply not enough complimentary words in my vocabulary to adequately describe my satisfaction with this wonderful event.

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed with drinks and canape, each of which flowed throughout the usual photographic coming and going. Ushered in to dinner, the dining room was a delight to see. Our meal was quite simply a triumph, with each course exceeding expectation. An efficient turnaround transformed dining room into a fantastic ceilidh venue, where we dance into the wee small hours.

After a brief nap in a palacial bedroom, breakfast was once again a perfect example of service and culinary perfection. Finally, the checkout process was slick and painless.

Huge thanks to Marion, Eric, Shona and every single member of your excellent staff for providing our families with a wonderful celebration which we'll remember forever.

Room Tip: All are perfect, you cannot miss, select with complete confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here at the end of July, we were in room 1 which had a fantastic view over the loch and was clean and very comfortable. Staff were great and very helpful. We had a Living Social voucher which mentioned the restaurant but this wasn't open, which was a shame as the menu was in our room and looked excellent, however we had bar meals which were very good and the atmosphere in the pub was warm and friendly. Would recommend this as a great place to stay and very central for a break in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently enjoyed being a day guest at Roman Camp.
Had heard lots of positive opinions about this hotel : but it was even better than expected.
The wedding day was one of the sunniest days of the year which did make everything nicer, but having said that , nothing can take away the beautiful setting and grounds that Roman Camp provides,
The words to describe this hotel are " quirky ", "interesting " " unusual in a positive way " and " unique ".
The staff were attentive but discreet, the food was lovely, and during an " explore " of the public rooms more and more treasures of rooms , down increasingly unusual and twisty corridors were found: great !
This is an hotel which should be seriously considered for a wedding or special event.
Only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that the waiting staff were a wee bit too enthusiastic clearing away plates from the table when other guests at the same table were still eating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ross58Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
11.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
17.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
265 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.6 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Property: Roman Camp Hotel
Address: Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Camp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing