We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Camp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were fortunate enough to be invited to a wedding at the Roman Camp, it is a stunning wedding venue and not like anywhere I've been before. We didn't stay here so can only comment on the public areas (lovely grounds with free roaming deer!) and the food....oh the food....it was a 5 course wedding breakfast for approx 100 guests.

It was simply the best food we've ever tasted. Fabulous soup, delicious pate, melt-in-the-mouth beef and dessert which was out of this world.

The staff were friendly and helpful, I simply can't say enough good things!

We would definitely return to the lovely town of Callander and this would be our top choice of places to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 443 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large wedding party. As there were four of us, two adults and two teenagers, we were given a suite with two rooms. The views were lovely, their was complimentary fruit, water and whisky in the room, and it was very different to the norm. In contrast to the bedrooms the huge bathroom was very modern with a whirlpool bath as well as a large shower. The food throughout was very good although I am not sure if the wedding meal was supplied by the hotel or by caterers. A really interesting and unusual place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvelynM46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had stayed at this hotel in 2003 on business. This was my first stay at this lovely hotel for leisure. My wife and myself had a two night break in the middle of July. Tucked away off the pleasant high street of Callander, the tree lined drive into the hotel grounds is just the start of the whole experience. A warm welcome, helped by the log fire in reception was afforded to us.

Our room was huge, clean, comfortable with a pleasant view of one of the expansive gardens.

This is a hotel oozing with charm and character. The perfect place to relax and unwind away from it all.

We didn't dine in the evenings, however, the restaurants a fine collection of Michelin awards (and was really good on my previous visit). The breakfast is nicely presented and well cooked from local produce.

The gardens are an ideal place to walk, relax and soak up the unique atmosphere of this special place. There is even a path to the riverbank.

We will definitely go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al_and_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

To the last review titled, "No Service". Giving it one star? How rude! Do you not realise that when a wedding takes place at a venue like this that the wedding party have exclusive use?...But yet you want the staff to drop everything for you just because you want a drink? Yes your right you should book it, as then you'd be able to understand why this place has the reviews it has. You would be able to be treated as a guest and not some random off the street because lets face it, that's what you are when a wedding party is on. If i was having my wedding and some random person came in, requesting to have a drink i would more than expect the staff to state "no, as there is a wedding on!" Don't be so selfish!" I myself, have visited the Roman Camp which involved the first visit as a drop in , not realising there was a wedding on. Despite this, the staff took there time to show us round the venue and couldn't have been any nicer. We left promptly as we didn't want to impose on the wedding party.....that's just good manners!!!! If you want to truely feel the Roman Camp, then book in advance and rest assured you will be looked after. FACT! You couldn't find a more romantic gem if you tried! So much so i am getting married there in 2013!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank feem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

One of these days my wife and me are going to try and stay at this place because so far we have visited twice and both times have been disappointed! The latest attempt was on Saturday - a beautiful sunny day in Callander. All we wanted was a tea or a coffee or a drink of some kind. However, there was a wedding in the hotel and the guests were currently at dinner in the function room. All other rooms were empty, the gardens were empty. Could we have a drink, please - no! "The hotel was closed for a wedding", said the receptionist. Welcome to the Roman Camp Hotel in Callander!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
10  Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Having dined several times in the past we decided on the Roman Camp for our only daughters wedding. The hotel and grounds are the perfect setting for a private and intimate wedding. Although, on this occassion the weather prevented the ceremony being held by the rivers edge, the function has was a perfect substitute and totally unrecognisable. The organisational skills of the hotel team were nothing short of perfection, the food and wine were both excellent, the service was flawless and attentive without being intrusive, and the atmosphere was conducive to a fantastic evening. the attention to detail from the hotel was nothing short of impeccable with all the staff being a credit to the hotel owners. You really need to check this place out if you have an upcoming wedding and it is reasonably priced !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hotel was the perfect choice for a recent family gathering of 4 generations for Sunday lunch. For a reasonable fee we were able to enjoy private space for dining and pre and post lunch drinks. The lunch was good quality and value. The setting is idyllic.

The staff were attentive and friendly, but not obtrusive. I am sure that our small lunch party was certainly not the largest booking of the year, but we were still extremely well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hen_Staff_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
22 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Address: Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: $126 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Camp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing