We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a wonderful beer garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Burntisland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food in a wonderful beer garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The beer garden is beautifully planted and even has a tree the kids can climb. Good variety on the menu

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bayview65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, General Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lade Inn, Kilmahog. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to us including the garden and the menu. I however must stress that the tree is not there for children to climb on and we would not advertise it as being as if there was an accident we would not want to be held responsible. The tree is simply a cherry blossom that is in the beer garden and in no ways is it meant to be climbed on. Still I hope that we will see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    214
    47
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is this best food pub in Scotland?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We think so. Super location, attentive and friendly staff and beautifully clean. And the food? Superbly cooked, ample portions - just what you need after a long hill walk in Scotland. Highly recommemded!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stravaigerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped for Lunch. Nice setting in the garden. Written on the menu was that all dishes were freshly prepared and a guide as to how long this might take. Happy to wait, tasting the local beer.
However, half an hour later, we were told that if we wanted the 'mashed' potatoes that we had ordered to accompany the steak pie, we would need to wait a further half hour as that would be the time required to mash the boiled potatoes we were now asked to chose as an alternative-with chips being another alternative. Can't help but think that for a professional kitchen, this was a lame excuse and not 'customer centred'. Far better to have said at the beginning that 'mash ' was not an option rather than raise expectations. The steak pie was disappointing. Two mains, one beer one wine £30

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lade Inn and I am sorry it was not a better experience for you. I am happy to hear that you appreciate that all our food is cooked to order and unfortunately at the time that you placed your order the mashed potatoes were being cooked in a large pan and were not quite ready. You should have been told that they were not available at the time of ordering and that you would have the choice of boiled new potatoes or chips instead and for this we can only apologise. I am really sorry that you felt the Steak Pie was disappointing but it is our most popular dish on the menu and has been for the past 8 years so the recipe of this will not be changing. As for pricing if you take the price of an average main course as say £10 each so that's £20 and then 2 drinks I feel this is perfectly acceptable for what you had. We cannot compete with the prices that large chain pub/restaurants charge as we are a small family run business and our prices are reflective for the area we live in. We hope that these points would not put you off returning again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a nice lunch here, including some very good locally farmed trout. Friendly service and good food. But perhaps the best thing is that they brew their own excellent beer, and have a real ale shop onsite, with over 200 Scottish real ales in bottles. A must for the real ale enthusiast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice dog friendly pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Came for a weekend lunch with our 2 dogs after a walk. We were made very welcome in the bar, service was good as was the food and value. Beer selection is great and the attached real ale shop is excellent. Recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank btw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing