We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had two great meals here, very ample portions so go for a small portion if unsure, varied menu, freshly cooked, really enjoyed it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review of your recent trips to The Lade Inn, Kilmahog. We always welcome customer feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed dining at The Lade on two occasions while visiting the area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    215
    50
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
217 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Try the fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stopped here for lunch as it looked an inviting place to go with plenty of parking. We were quite early and so it was very quiet initially, but soon became a bustling place with a number of families. Despite this, service was very good. The food arrived promptly and was absolutely delicious as was the coffee that we had to follow.Well worth visiting and easy to park - much easier than in Callendar itself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghgrecofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of The Lade Inn and we would like to say that we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our staff work very hard to provide a good customer experience from the food to the service and beyond. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Callander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
215 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Dinner review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

First time in the Lade in. Lovely small cosy hotel. The menue was in the main pub grub but looked ok. Average price about £10-11 a main. My steak pie came in at £11 and came with a choice of potatos or chips & veg. My potatos & veg were good & a nice selection of veg. The pie pastry topping was a little under done & in hindsight should have asked for it to be given another few minutes in the oven but the steak filling had a beautiful taste. Others in the party had Haggis, neeps & tatties which looked good & decent portion for around £9.50. My hubbie ordered chicken gougons & chips. These were served with side salad. Looked good & very hommade but not for me. Too much batter which can become sickly. Thses came in around £10. There was the offer of a "Big yin" or "Wee yin" burger with or without cheese servied with chips. My friend had the "wee yin" which was smaller but a think burger so plenty eating. This was priced around £7.50 mark. Nice bottle of Cabaret Sauvingnon priced £17. All n all the food was good not exceptional but for pub grub fine. The staff were really nice, friendly & helpful which for me is as important as the food. I would pay it another visit if I was back in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbienGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lade Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would come back again. We are always keen to hear our customer's feedback and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your pastry from your Steak Pie being undercooked slightly. We would have happily taken it back to the kitchen and rectified this for you. Our staff try very hard to check on our tables during their meal and I hope this was done when you visited. Nonetheless I am happy to hear that your overall experience was good and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at The Lade Inn yesterday for mid afternoon tea, on a very miserable damp afternoon. The restaurant is slightly off main road on the road to Aberfoyle but well sign posted. Upon arrival we were seated at the table overlooking hills, although we were here for a quick bite we chose to have a proper meal of fish tea consisting of Haddock and Scampi, both meals were cooked to perfection with homemade Tartare Sauce, the portions were enormous and delicious my wife struggled to finish the meal. The scottish folk music in the background was nice. One thing I did notice though that there were no lady waitresses. However we had a lovely meal and we'll stop here again. Next door there is a shop that sells Real Scottish Beer, but it is not permanently manned you have to ring the bell for the member of the staff to come and open the shop, a bit of pain specially when it is raining and the restaurant is busy, but Hey this is Scotland. See you soon guys.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on The Lade Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals and yes the portions are large (value for money we think) and there is a choice for smaller portions as well. We do currently have one waitresses, one female Manager (Myself) and one of the owners is also female however on the day you were in for your meal none of them were working but I am sure that the male staff managed very well without them.

Our Real Ale shop is run on a bell system through the Winter months as you can imagine some day's there are not as many people around so we do not feel the need to have someone permanently out in the shop. The best thing to do is if you are in the restaurant notify a member of staff that you would like to go in to the shop and they will let you in so you will not have to get wet. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boelenslaan
1 review
“The Lade Inn, food, beer and music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had some great evenings at The Lade Inn: Good traditional food, great, really great, ales.
And fantastic music, with sing-a-long book!!! Wonderfull!
Would recommend it highly!
With kind regards,
abcbouma
The Netherlands

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcbouuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing