We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
KIncardine on Forth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have visited The Lade Inn before ( usually to enjoy good folk music) but our party was disappointed on this occasion.

Atmosphere, menu choice and wine all criticized within the fist 15 minutes does not bode well for a celebratory evening. Food was all cooked fine if a little basic, although the portions for the main course were OTT in some cases. Quantity rather than quality being the main complaint.

The highlight for me was to be the folk music, after some soleful songs from a young man that did have a decent voice but not a very cheerful disposition we inquired when the Trio would be on. This is when we were told that unfortunate circumstance meant the trio that should have been playing couldn't make it but they were still being advertised on posters in the Inn. The place was empty but for 2 couples when we left, we really did try to stay but depression was setting in. Normally it's standing room only.

Had we known we could have made other arrangements after our meal or even stayed in and entertained ourselves.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankiechelsea, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Sorry to hear you were disappointed any problems with food or wine should be passed on to our waiting staff, when they checked back with you, we will happily replace anything that is not to your satisfaction. Our menu is about to change to our summer menu, so it will alter in the next week to include a number of new interesting dishes. Apologies on the change of band the Adam McCulloch Trio (abeit performing as a duo) stepped in on Friday night when Haggerdash received news that one of the band members sons is very seriously ill and none of them felt up to playing, as they are all related. Terrible news like that makes you realise how difficult it can be to carry on as normal and we were very thankful they were able to arrange for Adam to step in, so we could at least provide entertainment for our diners. I would not blame the band for lack of an audience we are not into the busy months yet so numbers can be variable, even on our normally busy Saturday nights. As far as I am aware we are the only Callander venue providing free live entertainment this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    215
    50
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nearest eating/drinking place to cabins,we went on Saturday night ,huge portions very reasonable,folk music in the bar £15 taxi back to cabins

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank xLizx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankiechelsea, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your visit, sorry cannot do anything about taxi prices, however they do run 7 and 8 seaters and we are happy for diners to leave your cars in the car park overnight, so you only need to pay for a trip back to the cabins and collect the cars in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Belt-busting quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We dropped in here for lunch as part of our weekend in Callander. One of the reasons to come here, rather than any of the other offerings in the locale was that we wanted to try their own beers and to pop in to the Scottish Real Ale shop next door.

For starters, we had the haggis in batter. Always a favourite of mine, this was delicious. The batter was almost tempura like, rather than the batter you might normally see wrapped round a haggis. The sauce that came with them was also lovely, although I'm sure what exactly it was. My parents had decided against starters because they'd seen the size of the mains on other tables and were seized by a concern that they may not make it to dessert.

Mains were haggis neeps and tatties, burger from local beef, steak and ale pie and fish and chips. My beef burger was enormous, a real hunk of meat. I loved it. rather a challenge for the old jaw muscles, but we Scots can cope with such stern tests. The haggis was very well presented, again with the delicious (and unknown) sauce. The chips were fab too, just the right amount and well-cooked. The fish and steak and ale pie went down a treat too.

We gave up at that point, with the portions defeating us. My parents managed to make it through to desserts. The cheesecake and the ice-cream were both scoffed down and seemed as good as the rest of the meal.

Their real ale is very enjoyable too and worth trying. They have many bottled beers if you'd prefer, but I think it's right to try their own. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.

We did pop into the real ale shop next door and bought rather too many bottles from the very friendly lady who runs it. It's a great wee shop and you really must go in if you like real ale and want to enjoy the best that Scotland has to offer.

So, all in all, worth a trip. The Lade is a very good example of what good pub food can be. Some might find it slightly on the expensive side, but I think you get what you pay for and this was good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankiechelsea, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your meal with us and to clear up the mystery on the sauce we serve with the Haggis, it is a whisky cream sauce created by my son Stephen and it really does complement the Haggis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Huge portions, pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Expected bit better quality food, it is basically pub grub - frozen chips, scampi, etc. although also had fresh cooked roast beef, chicken and haddock. Huge portions - we only managed to eat about half of what we were given. Would have been much nicer with hand cut chips and smaller portions. Staff polite and attentive. Nice wine by the glass or bottle, didn't try the local brew! Bill £70 for 2 starters, 2 adult mains, 2 kids mains, 2 glasses wine & 4 soft drinks, no room for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank Anjcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankiechelsea, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Disappointed you did not recognise our chips are fresh and not frozen and our menu gives the option for smaller portions of most dishes including our hugely popular Roast Beef Sunday Roast, there is a yellow smiley face against each dish, where a smaller portion is available, our waiting staff would have happily pointed you to these. Our Lade Inn Real Ales are very popular and we offer tasting samples, so you can choose the ale that suits you best, very pleased you enjoyed our wines which have been carefully selected to provide a well balanced range.

As a family business we are focused on providing fresh local produce to our family customers, hence we provide smaller portions so every member of the family can eat from the same menu and enjoy the same high quality of produce. We do appreciate your custom and we hope you will return to try our smaller portions and desserts or even sample our real ales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Year on year the quality of the food doesn't slip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing