We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend! excellent hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westcot Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We just stumbled upon the Westcot after driving from Loch Ness to Stirling. Definitely made the right choice. Moe and Marsha (?) the hosts were great. Love the fact you could choose from a big breakfast (Highlander) or a smaller breakfast (Lowlander) along with fresh fruit, rolls, etc. The room was huge! We could spread out in it and as other guests mentioned, the free wi-fi was great. We stayed at a place that didn't have it at all and it just seemed odd to us. But anyway great location, adaptors provided, nice shower, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We booked in for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in Callander. I booked us a triple room even though we were a couple to ensure we had plenty of room! The room was a good size with just the right amount of space and furniture. One of the reasons for booking the Wescot was the free wifi, which we find all too rarely! It was fast and secure.

The en suite shower room was compact but clean and with a good sized shower enclosure (no elbow banging!). Great idea to leave some facial wipes and eye make up remover in the bathroom just in case you had forgotten them!

My only concern was the noise of the traffic on the (busy) main road - where you have to park but there is plenty of space - because our room was at the front and I'm a very light sleeper. However, it wasn't a problem at all because the road only seemed busy during the day & evening and was quiet overnight. We didn't hear anything from the other rooms/guests, which was lovely as this is something that irritates me!

The hosts were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely, plenty of food and drinks and a nice relaxed feel.

Would definitely recommend the Westcot if staying in Callander, we would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for four nights following on from a long weekend in Edinburgh ( 1.25 hours away). We were warmly greeted by Moe who showed us to our large family room. Ben Guillipen - two king sized beds ideal for a family of 4. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty, the room and ensuite were lovely and clean. The guest house is situated close to lovely walks, great play area and near to shops, restaurants etc. So pleased to have found this little gem, thanks go to Moe and his partner for making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

WE stayed at the Westcot for 2 nights in June 2011 and were made to feel at home from the very start by Moe and his partner. The room ( we were three persons ) was just great with our own private shower room. The breakfast was super ( if you can forget the calories! ) and served with charm by the lady of the house. Lots of information about the local attractions and we followed most of it and were never disappointed.
Great place to stay and will definitely return if we should visit Scotland again.

Room Tip: Great base to tour the Trossachs & Loch Lomond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hull12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

After a pleasant journey we were welcomed by owner, Moe, at the door and although meeting for the first time, we were made to feel like old friends. The rooms are well thought out, with good quality fittings and a very well appointed en-suite shower room. Detailed local information in the room with restaurant options and suggestions, so we dined at The Old Rectory next door, and had a superb meal. Breakfast was cooked by Moe, with a great choice from porridge, a light Continental to a full Scottish Breakfast, with friendly service by Jane and Nichola. Nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the Highland Games Weekend so much, we have booked for a week next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HambletonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Having pre-booked two twin rooms as a part of a motorcycle tour in Western Scotland, we arrived to find the proprietor Moe waiting with a smile and ready to help with our bikes and gear. He arranged secure off-road parking for us and couldn't have been more helpful with advice about local places to eat and enjoy the ceilidh music at a local bar. The rooms were spotless and looked to have been recently refurbished and our private bathroom was huge and equipped to a high standard. After an enjoyable evening we slept soundly in the quiet rooms and Moe cooked us a fine Scottish breakfast before we continued on our way. We'll certainly stay at the Westcot when we visit Callander again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattW_GSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

What a find. We only stopped in Callander by virtue of my husband who didn't want to drive any further and the town looked interesting. The tourist office booked us into Westcott B & B which was a short distance along the main road. Sandy welomed us with her lovely Texan smile and showed us to the first floor front facing room. It had 2 large double beds with pretty furnishings, a couple of comfortable armchairs + coffee table plus an enormous bathroom newly renauvated. The walk-in shower was big enough for 2!! Together with a lovely roll-top bath and modern suite. All very clean and lots of hot water available to soak away the muscle aches.
She was happy to recommend the restaurant next door - great choice but said if we'd rather get in a take-away meal , we were welcome to use the lounge/breakfast room. That was a lovely option which we'd never had been offered anywhere else and would have been most inviting until we saw the restaurant menu.
Breakfast was served by Moe, Sandy's better half - lovely local man who cooks a mean scrambled egg. We were pleasantly full and ready to pack our bags but only after we'd been introduced to their 2 dogs Beau and Pugsy - real characters .
Definately a warm welcome and comfortable stay at Westcott and we'd return another time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waggytails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
496 reviews
0 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#2 of 34 in Callander
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glengarry Guest House
Glengarry Guest House
#5 of 34 in Callander
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcot Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcot Bed & Breakfast

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $96 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcot Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westcot Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcot Bed & Breakfast Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing