We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on a nice day.”
Review of Callander Meadows

Callander Meadows
Ranked #5 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: This family run business opens for lunch and dinner with a lovely garden, serving light lunch, dinners freshly made cakes teas coffees and a fully licensed bar.Freshly cooked food in season and sourced local from Scotlands amazing larder.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place on a nice day.”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Have eaten here twice now, lunch time on both occasions and sat in the garden, first time round was for sandwiches, cake and coffee and secondtime was just beer and chips pitstop. More than happy to return, on both occasions it did not seem too busy which surprised me but I liked the place and staff were friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingerchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    65
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Desserts”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Desserts to die for at very reasonable prices and
use the garden area on a pleasant evening.
Friendly service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank george1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and good food”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Tried this restaurant without booking and thought at first we would be turned away as the main dining room was heaving. We were put into a different room - perhaps the breakfast room for the hotel - and as such had our own private dining facility. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was good, though the house white wine at £24, whilst an excellent New Zealand Sauvignon, seems a little over priced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not All it Was Cracked Up To Be”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our last night in Callander we decided on this restaurant. We should have thought twice.

The dining area itself was tight, meaning it was a bit small but that was ok. We still were able to feel like we weren't sitting atop one another.

To start off, we had a waitress who had either a language barrier or really had no idea about items on the menu or special list. When asked she said she didn't know or ran off to ask. I'm sorry, in a fine dining establishment the wait staff should know the menu.

The specials board should have been updated to reflect what was still available. Our Shiraz wine was brought to the table but we had to pour.

The Herbed Chicken w/ veggies was seasoned nicely but unfortunately the chicken was overcooked and dry. The others were satisfied with their dinners but nothing really "wowed" them.

Maybe it was near the last sitting as to why our experience wasn't that great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had dinner at Callander Meadows on June 23rd. We were very impressed. Our dinner the night before was at a posh Edinburgh establishment and this restaurant far exceeded (for less $$). All of our courses were very tasty and left us feeling very happy that we stumbled on this restaurant on the Main Street of Callander.


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaspesianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callander Meadows also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Callander Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing