We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening out”
Review of The Byre Inn

The Byre Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely evening out”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just down the road from our holiday cottage, this is a cosy and welcoming pub on a dark October evening. The staff were friendly and the food delicious, we can heartily recommend the bread and dips, the burgers and the trout fish cakes. No room for pudding but the coffee was lovely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliegirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    32
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ripped off and unhappy”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

With a passion for outdoor pursuits we have spent some time in this area and over the years we have passed by The Byre Inn but we have always had the intention to visit. Today, we decided to stop in for some lunch and unfortunately for The Byre Inn we will not return nor will we recommend it to friends and family. On appearance and atmosphere, The Byre Inn can not be faulted. The interior is welcoming and homely with lots of pleasing touches, such as the open fire, playing cards and books on the table as well as the rustic farmhouse feel. Our first impression of The Byre Inn was it ticked all the boxes, however, we left feeling ripped off not to mention angry at the poor level of customer service we received. After a day on the hills, we order two bowls of Cullen Skink, normally a hearty Scottish dish to warm you from the inside. At this point The Byre Inn stopped receiving a thumbs up. We were served the smallest portion of Cullen Skink, when the soup spoon was rested in the bowl the liquid did not cover the spoon, if you place the spoon in vertically the liquid did not even reach quarter mark of the spoon head and finally when trying to fill a spoon using a spooning motion, you only managed to fill three quarters of the spoon at the most. Needless to say the Cullen Skink was finished in a few spoonfuls. Not something you would expect for £6.95. At no point did we receive a "meal check" from the waitress, to be honest the food was finished with minutes of it being placed therefore there was no opportunity for her to do so. On the clearing of the plates, we were asked "how were things?", we told the waitress that it tasted wonderful however the portion size was ridiculously small, in fact it was the smallest portion of a soup based product we have ever received. At this point, we experienced an unacceptable level of customer service, where our server lectured at us that what we order was a starter and that the Cullen Skink was a starter size. There was no interest in our complaint nor was there any signs of care that we were unhappy with our experience at The Byre Inn. We have dined at lots of establishments across Scotland and we are well aware of what the average size of a "starter" is and what we received at The Byre Inn was not it. What we received today was nothing more that a taster size. We want The Byre Inn to receive this feedback as constructive as we loved the concept however we felt exploited as what we paid for was certainly well below what it was worth. We hope The Byre in address the issue of quantity and customer service allowing others to wholly embrace the experience that The Byre Inn is trying to offer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunvegan78, Owner at The Byre Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
At least you enjoyed the food and the pub, that is something at least.
We take great exception to the assertion that you were ripped off, the Cullen Skink Crumble has been on our menu(Seasonally) for over 4 years and not once(Prior) has someone complained about the portion size.

Clearly however comprehension is an issue here, we very clearly state that it is a crumble we serve and essentially not a typical Cullen Skink. We even go further to write on our menu “Our take on a traditional Scottish Favourite.”

Our crumble is made with an Isle of Mull cheese topping and is rich and high in Calorific values. It is ample as an entrée, which is exactly what it is, an entrée to a wider meal experience. We have one regular diner who feels it is too rich for her to have in current portion size and asks for it in a small coffee cup. I will also note we eat regularly in The Byre, to make sure the food and experience are up to date and if we felt there was in issue with the crumble we certainly would have looked at it.

We would not pass it off as something to fill you up after a day hiking in the mountains but it looks like you have looked at the price and determined a portion size from that. It is wholly ridiculous and disingenuous to suggest it is a taster portion. A small mug or shot glass is used for taster portions. Let me also assure you the profit margin on the crumble is one of the lowest on the menu, it is certainly not our hidden ticket to buying that flashy sports car that we have been eyeing up.

The crumble is not pre-made and refrigerated, but made fresh to order and made using daily delivered products from small suppliers around Scotland. The charge for the “Wonderful” crumble is reflected in the price we pay to put it on the plate, and is certainly not some elaborate “rip off” get rich quick scam.

We also take exception to your suggesting the lady who waited on your table was lecturing you, she is local to our village and in ten years plus of my running restaurants and pubs is one of the most professional and polite ladies I have seen waiting on tables. You asked a question and she provided an answer, obviously it was not the answer you wanted but that is the price and that is the portion size and it has been for over four years at The Byre.

What I am surprised about(Or perhaps not surprised) is that you were not happy with the portion size from the outset, yet you had not paid for it at that point and could have declined to eat it in its current size but you chose to eat it. You have stated that you were unhappy with your Byre inn experience, yet your entire complaint seems to revolve around an unhappiness with the size of a product you chose to eat as is and then got further irate that we were not prepared to offer you something that no other customer gets when they have the crumble, namely more on the house or a refund(To our detriment) and that is not something we were prepared to do.

The terms you have used in your review, like “rip off”, “lectured” and “exploited” are really sensationalist terms of phrase to use and an over-reaction of a rather large proportion. Your Coup de Grace assertion that we “exploited” you is just utterly self-indulgent and as such we have no problems with you not returning in the future and we certainly have no interest in entertaining you in the future either.

Morven Leader(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab evening”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were a party of seven and had a wonderful, family celebration at the Byre Inn. The food was outstanding, served by friendly and very helpful staff. Two of our party had dietry issues and the service staff could not have been more engaged or helpful. Excellent value for a great menu. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“So yummy we went twice!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great little restaurant. Outstanding food. Something to suit all tastes and pockets. Recommend the goats cheese tartlet, so good I had it 2 days in a row. Nice wines by the glass. Booked the table by the fire in the bar, our wee dogs loved it. Free biscuits for them, happy puppies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped here”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I had been recommended to go to the tearoom at the Brig o'Turk but found when we went in it wasn't what we were looking for - we'd passed The Byre Inn on the way and decided to go back and give it a try. I was SO glad we did. We received a warm, friendly welcome from the lady behind the bar. The roaring fire and cute wee tables with games and books were an instant hit and gave a really good first impression .
The nice Dutch lady who served us was also really friendly and helpful. We were looking for a quick lunch as we'd booked a cruise on Loch Katrine for 3pm. My only disappointment being I would have rather have stayed at the Byre Inn all afternoon when I saw their lovely menu and felt the nice atmosphere!
I ordered a glass of house red which was seriously delicious with a nice wee spicy kick to it (I had to have another before we left it was so nice).
My fiancé and I had sandwiches from the specials board. Mine was the goats cheese and caramelised onion and my fiancé had the hot smoked salmon. We played some trivial pursuit while we waited for our sandwiches. When they arrived they look so good and wholesome and tasted great. The bread looked and tasted homemade and the sandwiches were really large and filling accompanied by a nicely dressed salad and coleslaw. There were loads of nice things to order from the menu which made me sad we were leaving the next day to come home to Aberdeen as I'd have loved to have returned for an evening meal.
The Byre Inn has a really nice, chilled out atmosphere and the thing which made me smile and think "good on you" was when I visited the "Ladies" there was a basket on the sink filled with hairspray, handlotions, cotton buds etc - what a thoughtful way to treat your customers. :-) (my fiancé said there was the same sort of thing in the "Gents").
We are returning to the Trossachs next May for our honeymoon and will definitely be hoping to spend a few evenings at The Byre Inn. I won't be in a rush to head off anywhere next time!
Many thanks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Byre Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Byre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing