We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in a beautiful setting”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had lunch on a wet October day but the view was still breathtaking.Husband and I had the soup and it was delicious. This was followed by the sharing platter and again the food was lovely. One wee suggestion - soup was gluten free which was great but would have been nice to have had gluten free bread to go with it. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madtabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    136
    35
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmorlie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great venue, great location, great staff”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I a light lunch here en-route on a trip up North.

Not only is the location beautiful, but the food was excellent (very fresh and delicious) but the staff were excellent also. We found them to be prompt, friendly and very welcoming.

Lastly, the price was more than reasonable. In fact, I actually had to ask the waitress to check the bill.

We would definitely return. It is out of the way for most people I guess, but well worth the diversion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful location”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stopped in glorious weather for a coffee. Ended up having Cullen Skink soup followed by coffee and lemon ginger cake . Very friendly staff. We sat out on the decking balcony and the view on the loch was stunning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labelledamesansmerci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Views and Wonderful Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This café is situated in one of the most beautiful locations. I have visited it several times and have always been impressed by the food. On my last visit I just had soup and cake and it did not disappoint. The lemon and ginger cake was amazing and the fresh cream chocolate sponge with strawberries was the best chocolate cake I have ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice views”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we had lunch here a couple of times and enjoyed the freshness of the sanwitches and the view of loch venachar were lovely

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraine071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing