We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views!”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Harbour Cafe has got to be one of my fave places to dine! Stunning views especially on a sunny day and delicious food what more could you ask for.
It is little bit pricey but it's a special place. I agree with other reviews that it can be a wait to get food but its well worth it.
I would recommend The Harbour Cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    136
    35
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a few weeks late - so apologies. We as a group of 6 had an absolutely delightful lunch at The Harbour Café.

We were originally given a table outside which was perfect - but it just so happened to have coincided with the warmest day of the year - and 3 of our party (all well over 60) struggled with the heat. The staff were superb and found us a table inside - so top marks there.

Food was perfect - we all had various starters, mains and desserts and we couldn't fault any of the food. There was enough choice - I should know - we also have 2 very fussy eaters - and both of then - after having the fish and chips remarked that it was one of the tastiest haddocks they had ever had - high praise indeed - let me tell you!! Lunch came to £20.00 per head which included drinks and a tip - so not only superb food - but excellent value for money.

Surrounding are to die for. Visitors to Callendar do yourselves a favour - if you are looking for a place to lunch - drive through Callender for a further 5-7 minutes and head to The Harbour Café you won't be disappointed. Our guests are already asking when we will be going back - it's only over an hour from Edinburgh so my guess is "pretty soon"!!!

Thank you so much to all the staff - a great day catching up with family ended up perfect thanks to your hospitality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsann_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself and my husband visited here several times in our 4 day holiday to the area. As the weather was so hot we made the most of this and sat outside on the picnic benches and one day on the picnic rug soaking in the beautiful surroundings and view.

The food was lovely (especially the home made chips!) and was just a beautiful place to come and sit and relax, it was always busy when we came which is always a good sign of a good place. We would definitely recommend to anyone for lunch or even a drink. The staff were also very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxineboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a wait...but it is worth it”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our meal didn't get off to a great start with a slightly disorganised maitre'd/Manager messing up the table waiting list. However when were finally seated after another long wait we were served excellent food and desserts. So my advice is that this is a must visit location in the Trossachs but at weekends either book, avoid peak lunch time or be prepared for a wait.

PS. Amazing views and outdoor deck seating

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumbarton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and good food.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited the Harbour cafe on a Saturday evening for the first time, was given a very warm welcome and our request for a window table although not requested at time of booking, was sorted out very quickly without and fuss.
Menu is limited but covers some excellent choices although the starters are a little pricey. The quality of the food was excellent and nice to see the focus on local produce, with the view over the loch adding to the whole experience.
We were well looked after by the 2 waitresses during our meal. We will revisit when in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rangers1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing