We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food - lovely setting. Just what's needed after a good walk”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant food - lovely setting. Just what's needed after a good walk”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Recommended by where we were staying, this place lived up to its reputation. Food was excellent - local fresh ingredients. Quite busy when we were here but service still good. Stunning view of loch an added bonus. Will come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Marchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    136
    35
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“slightly disappointed”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We popped in today for a bite to eat and to get a feel for the place as it was on our list of possible wedding venues. Yes it was a weekend day and a little (but not overly) busy. Plenty of staff on duty however attention to detail seemed to be lacking. On arrival we were seated indoors and shortly after menus were brought to our table and drinks orders taken. Five minutes later our drinks arrived, however the gentleman who brought them didn't ask if we were ready to order (which we were). After another 5-10 minutes of trying to catch a waiters attention I went to the counter to order some food. We tried to order a sharing platter for myself and my partner and a portion of hand cut chips for our daughter as there was nothing on the kids menu that she could eat ( we try to get our daughter to eat a variety of foods however cullen skink and mussels are beyond our 3 year olds taste as yet). I was disappointed to hear that at 1.30pm on a Sunday the kitchen had ran out of hand cut chips so with the lack of other options for my daughter we decided she could share our sharing platter.
The sharing platter arrived a few minutes later, it costs £12.95 and on the menu its advertised to come with scottish cheddar and pickles, neither of which arrived with the sharing board, the cheese was substituted with a soft goats cheese and pickles were non existant, my daughter eded up eating nothing and we had to get her something to eat later when we drove to Aberfoyle.
My partner paid as we left, there was a lady paying in front of us and the member of staff asked if everything was ok with their meal (standard practice) when my partner came to pay the same staff member simply reached her the change and turned away, my partner was going to offer some constructive criticism regarding the kids menu etc. but never mind.
Overall, slightly disappointed with level of service, kids menu and upkeep of grounds. Fair to say rhis venue is now off our list of possible wedding venues.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tutty1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear tutty1974,
I am really sorry that you have had a disappointing visit and I really do hope we can make it up to you in the future. We have a fair few new staff at the moment, as we are gearing up for a busy summer season, and unfortunately sometimes, when people are learning, mix up's do happen. We are looking at all the issues that you have pointed out and making sure we do everything we can to ensure that these sort of problems do not happen again.
I do just want to point out to other potential visitors that we do offer a homemade burger and chips, a mini haddock and chips, a cheese and tomato melt and a smaller portion of either of our soups of the day for our less adventurous younger guests. Plus we will always try to come up with another option that suits if you let us know, either in advance or at the time.
Thank you for your comments and feedback,
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way...”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Four of ate at the Harbour Cafe on Saturday evening - nothing to say other than fantastic in every way...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiva_pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not your average Cafe stop”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We chose this as we had passed by many times and thought it looked an attractive spot to stop for some lunch. Inside it is very well appointed and has great views over the loch. It is definately upmarket more of a restaurant style than a quick stop cafe. The food was excellent with a nice choice of scottish fare. It would be a good choice for a celebration meal or special occasion

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cake fit for a King (or Queen)”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views, and great service at this little beauty in the beautiful Trossachs. I would invite Mary Berry from the Great British Bake Off to try the Victoria Sponge, however shewould most likely retire as she would never taste a better one than this.
Moist, light, and so tasty my mouth is watering again just thinking about it.

Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing