We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh! To be in The Trossachs again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh! To be in The Trossachs again!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of visiting The Harbour Cafe for lunch, back on November 15, 2012 (I'm still catching up on long overdue reviews). We had just arrived from Toronto in the morning and driven out to Brig O' Turk to visit relatives. After settling in, our cousins suggested we head to The Harbour Cafe for lunch. What an antidote to airplane food and travel. Seated next to the toasty fire...much appreciated as we were tired and cold...we enjoyed a lovely meal, which included fish & chips and rissotto, while taking in the fabulous setting and views. The menu was not large but was fresh and I remember there were daily specials available as well...wonderful service...and reasonably priced. The two family members we were visiting are quite senior and don't cook at home any more, so they go out for lunch and dinner every day....The Harbour Cafe is one of a handful of restaurants they frequent regularly...lucky them!!!! This was the very best way to start off our 3 week visit to the UK.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GG296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    132
    32
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Coffee and scones”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great view over the Loch, nice coffee and scones
Pity they dont do breakfast, no meals available until noon

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited this restaurant two days before Christmas to commemorate the anniversary of my father-in-laws passing.
The menus are exciting, Scottish and varied. The food looked and tasted wonderful. We chatted with a chef (the chef?) afterwards and complimented him on our lovely meal.
Just one negative; it was both cold and draughty and this affected two members of our party so badly, they kept their coats on for the whole of the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyDaysx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute stunner of a restaurant!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I were staying at Tigh Mor this past weekend and I had booked us a table prior to travelling up. We ate dinner on Saturday night and couldn't decide which was better - the food or the views! We ordered a gorgeous bottle of NZ Sauvignon Blanc which really was perfect. The smoked fish starter platter in particular was just wonderful- so fresh and meaty (rather than pale and soggy!) and my two young nephews thought the children's menu was great! We loved the atmosphere and even the music was just right. Clearly there are many regular visitors here and once we had tried the home-baking and desserts on offer we could see why!

After a boat trip on Loch Katrine the next day - we unanimously decided to go back again and have a late lunch at the Lochside harbour cafe. Again the food was fabulous, and we followed it up with large ice-creams and Victoria sponge slices this time.

Everything about this restaurant is clearly thought out and elegantly presented. The decor is fresh and gentle as the owners have quite rightly decided to let the incredible loch views stand uncontested. The lady in charge (Alex, I think her name is) also deserves a mention as she is one of those increasingly rare breeds in food service - a woman who is truly great at her job. Knowledgeable, efficient, witty and attentive (without smothering) - she rounds off the whole experience. I will most definitely be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband & l stumbled across Harbour Cafe while visiting the area. We discovered a lovely restaurant on the loch side with a great Scottish menu using a great deal of local produce. The food was delicious and the service friendly and efficient. Great home baking too. The food was very reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing