We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific views”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stopped off here a few times now, the food is great and fresh and the cakes are delicious. The views across the Loch are stunning which makes this such a stunning place to stop off at. One little thing though a choice of sandwiches would enhance the menu as not everyone wants a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Jean,

Many thanks for posting your review and your comment about the sandwiches is much appreciated as an example of very helpful feedback!

As we get towards the summer we will be extending our menu. Although we do not plan to offer sandwiches, we do some exciting addition to the menu coming for people who perhaps do not fancy a full meal - so watch this space!

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for Venachar Lochside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 594 of 709 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I had booked a 'Groupon deal ' last year and decided to use it before it expired. Booking a table was made very easy,the place was straight forward to find and on arrival we were made very welcome.
The staff explained the additions available as well as on the menu and to be honest we were spoiled for choice.The food was delicious and the relaxed atmosphere made it a lovely dining experience.
Despite it being February,we were able to take our coffee out outside and sit admiring the view.
Although it was a week day,the place got quite busy but well done to all the staff,I'll certainly recommend you and I'll certainly be back -Groupon or not !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your excellent review and for taking the time. Its great to hear from people who have discovered us through Group-on and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We'd done a long cycle ride round loch Katrine and this was the perfect finale. Great location on loch side with amazing sunset. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff even with our messy 7 month old in tow. Good was really tasty too, recommend the scones, mussels and burgers. 5 stars for sure, surprised at the negative comments below, you must have gone somewhere else....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ChadHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Chad,

Your lovely review is especially appreciated as you came in towards the latter part of our busiest day of the year so far and I am pleased as punch that we came up to scratch!

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this and also for the stunning pic!

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped by this on the spur of the moment. The setting was fabulous – the view over the loch stunning. We sat at a table outside (in February!!). For the faint-hearted there was a wood fire burning in a log stove indoors. We both had soup – which arrived promptly, it was really tasty and had a nice chunk of bread on the side. The cakes all looked fabulous, though we didn't have any this time. It wasn't particularly cheap, but we felt it represented good value. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JM7194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi JM,

We really appreciate your feedback and very happy that we did a good job - although we can't take credit for the view!

Hope to see you again soon,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

At the end of a wander around the Trossachs we nipped into the Harbour Cafe and were very pleasantly surprised, the quality of the food was excellent, in fact the 'Cullin Skink' soup was so large my partner struggled to each her main course afterwards, the staff were nice, eager to please, and very helpful if we hadn't understood the menu options.
Views over the Loch were super, and the whole experience brought to an end a wonderful day out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice L, General Manager at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Barry,

Thank you so much for your review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to see you again soon!

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing