We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We visited on a wet and windy day, like so many, but the views from the cafe were no less spectacular. It's teh sort of place I could imagine would be a joy to work in as the view changes every minute of every day and each time it is stunning. The food is well done, well priced and well served. The Crannachan ice cream is a must.

Thank Winnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hi - this is Liam McMillan, owner of Venachar Lochside. Thank you for your positive review. We are always very pleased to hear from happy customers! We are very proud of our food and it's great to hear customers agree with us. We can't take the credit for the view but you're right - it is always great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 688 of 728 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a beautiful lunch here earlier this week while on holiday in the area. The food, service and location were all wonderful. We also hired a boat and had a wonderful hour on the loch on a beautiful still day. Would recommend this restaurant (agree with previous comments that 'cafe' is misleading) to anyone.

Thank smf1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hi! Liam McMillan here - owner of Venachar Lochside. We're very pleased you enjoyed your lunch and the service provided. As with all reviews, positive or negative, we will pass it on to all the staff. I agree completely with your comments regarding the word 'cafe' - it gives the worng impression. The use of 'cafe' was inherited from previous operators and we are in the process of changing it to 'Venachar Lochside'. Thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were made very welcome in 'The Harbour Cafe'. The views are amazing. Water all around you. The food was delicious, very generous portions and super value for money. Try the cakes! They are yum yum. We also appreciated that the staff bend over backwards to accommodate our wishes. They have just started to do food in the evenings, too. A lovely place to relax and eat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatMaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Good morning. I'm Liam McMillan, Owner of Venachar Lochside. It is great to hear you say that you were made very welcome - good customer service is vital to our business and we work hard to raise standards to the level you should expect. We don't yet manage to do it 100% of the time but we will keep at it. The staff do work very hard and it is great to be able to give them the type of feedback that you provided. You're right - we do have good food and cake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great food, great service, lovely views, excellent ambience. A freezing cold day for skippy stones on the beach, then into the Harbour Cafe - warm, friendly, professional, good atmosphere. The food was top quality by a professional chef (misnamed CAFE in my opinion) . My fish cake was creamy, mouthwatering, delicious.

Frankly, Scotland's not well off for GOOD restaurants, but this is definitely one and the new young owners are full of enthusiasm and energy. I strongly recommend it and will be back. Sue Mole, London

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SUE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear Sue - thank you for the recommendation that others to go to Venachar Lochside. The front of house and kitchen staff will be delighted with your comments regarding the service and the food. Carolyn, the General Manager, and Andy, Head Chef, ('the new young owners'), who run Venachar Lochside are very committed to the product provided to customers and need to hear feedback like yours when it is deserved. I agree with you regarding the use of the word 'cafe'. It is a remnant of previous owners and we are in the process of changing the name to 'Venachar Lochside'. I'm glad you'll be back - we'll have new seasonal meals on our menus when you next visit. Liam McMillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were recommended to use this restaurant while on holiday. Each dish was really well prepared and service was outstanding. We enjoyed our Saturday evening meal so much that we were back for Sunday lunch, which was just as good. It may be called a cafe but it is restaurant quality and the view as the sun went down on Saturday was brilliant. £25 pp on Saturday, £20 pp for 3 courses on Sunday

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hi. This is Liam McMillan, owner of Venachar Lochside. I'm very glad you enjoyed our food and service enough to come back! It's great to read reviews like this which give all the staff credit for the hard work that they do. Hope you had a good holiday in the Trossachs. LMcM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing