We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annfield Guest House
Ranked #3 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed at Annfield Guest House with my wife two weeks ago. This a victorian house near the centre of Callander in a quiet location with beatuful gardens. On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly hosts, Mac and Ania, who made us welcome throughout our short stay. Everything was spotless including our very tastefully furnihed and decorated bedroom. Our breakfast was excellent and in fact our whole stay could not be faulted. We will definitely be returning to the Annfield on returning to Callander and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly002_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
329
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Annfield is a beautiful house very close to Callander's main street so in a perfect location. The rooms were spotless and very well equipped and the owners were extremely friendly and helpful (even letting our children stay in the guest lounge after we had checked out while we changed a punctured tyre in the rain). The breakfast, served in a lovely dining room was excellent, I have seldom seen such an impressive selection of fesh fruits and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with fresh dill was delicious. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller43Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW, SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked the Annfield Guest House on behalf of my parents who were attending a wedding in a local hotel. When I made my initial enquiry I asked if it would be possible for an early check in as this would allow my parents to prepare before the wedding, this was not a problem and was much appreciated. My parents were delighted with the Annfield, their room was beautifully furnished with quality fittings and finishings and the ensuite looked brand new. Breakfast the following day was a feast. After a recent bad experience the Annfield has restored my parents faith in British guest houses. It sounds so good my husband and I intend to go see for ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Mac and Ania are great hosts of a B&B, Annfield House which is in a word beautiful. Both Ania and Mac are so welcoming and friendly you feel the atmosphere when you walk in.

The rooms have been renovated to an extremely high standard in the most tasteful tonings. The furnishings in each room are different and everything including towels are top quality.

There is a mirror with a hairdryer which is quite unusual. Staying in many B&B's throughout the UK one of the most frustrating things I find is there is rarely a power point near a mirror if you wish to style your hair, however this is another of the thoughtful things these two lovely hard working people have supplied along with a make up mirror. The rooms all have DVD players along with flat screen TV's. There is a vast selection of DVD's for guests to choose from.

There is a lovely lounge with a TV, DVD's and afternoon tea is provided. We were served tea coffee and delicious home made cakes, there are complementary chocolates and sherry for the guests as well.
Wow, the breakfasts!!!!
There is a buffet which includes a huge variety of fruits, juices, bread, yogurt, cereals. Then you are cooked a hot breakfast of your choice. My husband had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon surrounded by mushrooms which he said was delicious. I had eggs with 2 of the best sausages I have ever tasted, 2 rashers of bacon, the most divine black pudding.
Fresh bread and fresh jam and butter. Real jam and real butter not in packets!!!.
The wifi is free and very fast. This is the nicest B&B we have visited in Scotland over many years.

Room Tip: Everything here is beautiful so any room is great. But in particular the hosts who were superb make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siennagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wonderful welcome, easy to find, place to park, nice hosts and rooms. It was the best of our inns in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesLvalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Like so many other reviews for this B&B our experience was outstanding for the 4 nights we stayed at the Annfield Guest House. Our welcome was very warm with a welcome cuppa and cakes, Ania showed and explained all that was on offer, including the free chocolates and sherry! Our en-suite room was extremely clean with plenty of space and all the facilities we would expect and more. Mac's breakfasts were excellent while Ania looked after us, always offering more tea/coffee when cups empty & checking all was well. On our final morning Ania even dug up some of her plants for us to take home because my wife the day before had told Ania how much she loved some of the plants in the garden.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the B&B to friends and relations, any one going up to this area should ensure they stop here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

5*hotels should learn about it. Overwhelming welcome with private service of pastries and teas. Amazing confortable room with lots of facilities; wifi,coffee&tea facilities, power shower, exquisite bedlinen and fuffly towel clothes...ultra kind and attentive owners vety descreets and warming!! We loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 34 in Callander
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annfield Guest House

Property: Annfield Guest House
Address: 18 North Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Guest House dating from 1875.Quietly situated in the center of Callander.Provides a fantastic base for discovering the Loch lomond and Trossachs National Park and further afield.Highly rated by Visit Scotland . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annfield Guest House Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing