We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best stay of our entire trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Annfield Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“The best stay of our entire trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We toured around England and Scotland for 3 weeks and this was the best B&B we experienced. There were certainly other very good ones, but this was the complete experience. The service, the food, the room and the bathroom were all excellent. The house is beautiful and interesting, and Ania and Mac are perfect hosts who can't do enough to make you feel welcome and really at home. The house is perfectly situated just off the main street and has off-street parking.
There are simply no negatives!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShakyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
305
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
152 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Beautiful view from our room, delicious breakfast, lovely house ! What a good stop over ! We recommend it !

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binouche14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nothing but positives for this lovely Guest House. Warm and friendly welcome from the owners who were beyond helpful, offering to reserve tables at restaurants and providing recommendations on good walks around Callander. Annfield itself has a lovely feel to it, relaxing and warm, beautifully maintained and immaculately clean. Residents lounge on the first floor had deep comfy sofas and books.

Room and bed were comfortable and shower, en suite while small, was again clean and the power shower was exactly that. Incredibly quiet and enjoyed a fabulous nights sleep after a long tiring journey.

And to breakfast. Travel a lot yet the breakfast at Annfield gets top marks...beautifully presented, loads of choice, top quality ingredients and superbly and perfectly cooked. Best scrambled egg ever. Portions are excellent with plenty of warm toast. All delivered with a smile and considerable charm.

And on top of that the most fantastic value for money. Everything a guest house should be a more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeverBlue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at Annfield for 2 nights during a tour in Scotland. We had a very warm welcome here by Mac and Ania. Two lovely hosts who did their most to make you feel welcome.
The room was a good size and was nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotless and with all necessary comfort.

Breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit and delicious greek yoghurt. The cooked breakfast offered and extensive list of possibilities and was very good. Mac is in charge of the cooking and Ania really makes your day start bright with the service in the breakfast room.

The double bed was a bit smaller than we had expected, but this seems to be the standard width of beds in Scotland (as we noticed during our stays at most other B&B's).

We really enjoyed our stay at Annfield. Mac and Ania are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An-Bert-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

In addition to the positive reviews below, we would add that when the travel agency booked us incorrectly, the hosts went above and beyond to remedy a situation that didn't create, and before we even asked. They are truly wonderful hosts -- the warmest welcome we received in Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AVRLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We are a family with 2 children aged 5 and 9 and had a great 3-night stay at Annfield Guest House. The hosts, Ania and Mac are really warm and generous hosts and they made us feel completely at home, while allowing us to have our family privacy. Annfield has an ideal location in Callander and it's less than 100m from all the shops and restaurants while being away from the main road. The house is beautifully renovated and has plenty of space to relax and a nice garden to enjoy the sun (when there is any). The breakfast alone deserves 5 stars - the mushrooms with the omelette were the best I have eaten. We were treated really well and we warmly recommend this place. The place is spotless. We all slept really well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Great.

No more needs to be said, other than the off street private parking is an essential for Callander in the summer, unless you want to lug your luggage a long way!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuanAtTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annfield Guest House

Property: Annfield Guest House
Address: 18 North Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Guest House dating from 1875.Quietly situated in the center of Callander.Provides a fantastic base for discovering the Loch lomond and Trossachs National Park and further afield.Highly rated by Visit Scotland . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Annfield Guest House Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing