We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the fish and chips”
Review of Mhor Fish

Mhor Fish
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Stick to the fish and chips”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our family ate here twice during our holiday. Our son and his girlfriend stopped for a fish supper (as they are known in Scotland) and loved them so we went back another evening for a sit down meal. As it was a Saturday night we rang ahead to book and I would advise you to do the same as the seating area is small. The fish and chips were great but the squid rings were disappointing. So our advice would be to stick to what Mhor does best. It's not the cheapest chip shop in the world but the quality is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    192
    51
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Parallel universe”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had read some of the negative reviews and I think I must have slipped into a parallel universe. This place is simply great! Great fish great seafood nice staff even spotless toilets. I also thought the prIces were very reasonable
Simple straightforward no pretension what more do you want.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teevoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow and poor service”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

On driving back from Glencoe on Mon 21st July 2014, my wife and I and our two kids decided to stop at Mhor Fish in Callander for takeaway fish and chips at around 7pm. The decor and exterior of the shop looked inviting and promising. The shop was not busy to any great extent but we had to wait 30 mins for the fish and chips to be cooked. It was a ridiculous wait for takeaway food. During this wait, the young guy serving behind the counter launched into a propoaganda pitch regarding the independence referendum in Scotland, asking how we were voting and why England have been ripping Scots off for decades. Whilst I appreciate we are in the midst of a political discussion regarding the future of Scotland, I don't necessarily want to have the virtues of the 'Yes' and 'No' camps rammed down my neck whilst I patiently wait to be served. Other customers entered the shop during the 30min wait, including a family from England. How they were made to feel about Scotland and the people in it after the discussion that followed, was embarassing to say the least. In short, whilst the surroundings were very pleasant, the service was shocking and the time we were asked to wait was ridiculous. Must try harder...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ARankin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten-free takeaway meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful grilled fish from the takeaway counter, accompanied by delicious vegetables (broccoli, carrots and pak choi) and homemade tartare sauce - very gratefully received by our family, 3 out of 4 of us being coeliacs! Thank you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not very welcoming”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The prices appear to be expensive for what is a chip shop. We walked in and out as the staff were very gruff and unfriendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank undian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mhor Fish also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mhor Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing