We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shocking prices!”
Review of Mhor Fish

Mhor Fish
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“shocking prices!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

check price before you order!
visited on Friday evening with a family group of six, went through the menu,starters, mains and sweets, drinks, wine and coffee so expected a fairly hefty bill which i foolishly paid without checking,
looking over it the next day i noticed we had been charged £33.00 for a starter of six scallops in garlic butter( to be clear they don't have a starter of six scallops on the menu we just fancied some and asked if we could have just six, seared, on a plate , the waitress suggested garlic butter , fair enough!), That's right THIRTY THREE POUNDS! surely a mistake. Made a quick call to queery the price. no mistake, that's the price! hand dived scallops you see, end of! bye bye!
have just had a quick web search ,
restaurant Gordon Ramsay:- Orkney diver scallops with sea purslane, hazelnut and langoustine butter £15.00/£22.00

Claridges:- Seared Scallop, Pomegranate & Almond Quinoa, Orange Reduction £ 14.00
this is for an intermediate course so probably only three scallops.

so how exactly do mhor fish justify being considerably more expensive than the above establishments? considering we ate at plastic tables sitting on bent plywood school assembly chairs.....................need i go on?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    190
    51
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

When we booked for dinner on my birthday didn't realise that the chef wasn't on so no specials were on offer. When the waitress heard this she got our seafood pastas embellished with mussels. My oysters to start were divine. The pasta was gorgeous but so big neither of us could finish it. We felt we had been treated really well. Want to go back at night again when the dinner menu is on.

Helpful?
Thank Greenlisa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best chippy ever”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went in to get takeaway whilst in callandar placed order then noticed seating roundthe back asked lad at counter if they did sit in, which they did he happily told us yes so we went through our order had already been placed were promptly given drinks menu and we're delighted to get irn bru in glass bottles!! When the food arrived it was delicious

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go for dinner just before 9pm on a Friday night. Room is quite small which improves the atmosphere however the disadvantage is customers are packed in. Food was good although the bottle of wine we ordered was opened round the back and not at our table. Kitchen obviously closed at 9pm as we heard 2 other customers being turned away a shortly after we sat down. Was a little off putting to see staff tidying up as we were eating our main as we felt rushed and, at one point, we couldn't find any staff to get us condiments however we were offered dessert without hesitation. There's a bit of a problem with identity here as the menu is pricier than the venue warrants. All ingredients, however, are locally sourced and food was good. Staff need to work at the little things if they want the diners to have a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank cdmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fabulous food”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped here on our way home to Glasgow on 13th October. We had the haddock tea (fish and chips with a mug of tea and bread & butter) and the obligatory side order of onion rings. Yum! Food was hot, crispy and very tasty. Bread was lovely and soft and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Its rare to find a little cafe that specialises in what it knows best and goes all out to ensure that it delivers first class service. 2 haddock fish teas, onion rings and an apple juice for £23.90 - great value. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mhor Fish also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mhor Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing