We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Italian cooking with some flair”

Ciro's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
grantown-on-spey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian cooking with some flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We visited on a Tuesday evening and there were plenty seats but I'm sure you would be wiser to book at weekends. We shared a simple starter of focaccia topped with Parmesan and baked to perfection....very tasty. mains took a while to appear as they were prepared from scratch whereas those ordering pastas dishes were served quickly from pre-pared pots. My cod chunks were fresh and flavoursome with mushrooms in a tasty sauce. Fresh roasted vegetables were perfect and fennel seeds gave a crunchiness and added flavour. My wife opted for prawn & chorizo which was a big portion of protein served with a very tasty light chilli sauce and same veggies as myself. Staff were very helpful and the food bill was only £31.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    108
    36
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Friendly and welcoming Italian restaurant. Had a good meal though seriously large portions - actually a little off putting for me but this may appeal to other diners! Would have no hesitation in returning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seoniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We were disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The proprietors of our bed and breakfast highly recommended this restaurant, but we ended up not having such a good experience. We visited here on a Friday night. It was not crowded when we entered, but it did get crowded very quickly. There were only two servers covering the whole restaurant. Everything was slow--getting menus, ordering drinks, then food, etc., etc. The wrong wine was brought to my husband and the waitress was actually surly when it was called to her attention. It actually seemed like we were a bother to the waitress because we were there--not a very pleasant dining experience. On a week-end night it would seem that a popular restaurant would have enough staff to handle diners. We would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a lovely bistro, we have visited this restaurant every year for the last 4 years we have went to Callendar and always received excellent service and a lovely meal. You are definitely best to book and reasonably priced aswell.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SCOTTISH FOOD AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Lovely hostess helped us make our choices and very well priced too!! Excellent food, excellent service. Made our stay in Callander a memorable one :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claudette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Ciro's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing