We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired place”
Review of Crags Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crags Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed one night here,we were shown to our room on the very top floor and have to say felt the room was grubby , a rug by the side of the bed covering a large suspicious looking stain. If we hadn't been so tired we would have looked elsewhere but I did not feel the bedding was clean and it all looked a grey shade of white. We didn't see the owner until checking out. Breakfast was very average and the dining room not very welcoming. I feel this place needs a complete refurbish and freshen up and didn't feel it was value for money. Has put me off Callendar for life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IScottH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one night with family dog here and staff very welcoming throughout our stay and we were able to take the dog to a separate area to eat our evening meal and breakfast. This was very helpful and staff brought water for dog too, The food was really good and freshly cooked. We would certainly go back and recommend the hotel to people with dogs There is a car park at rear of building which we found good as our room was just a short distance from back door on ground floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Crags is a small but pleasant hotel set in the town of Callander, close to Loch Lomond and within easy reach of Stirling.
During our stay we found the staff to be friendly and the breakfasts we received excellent. Our room was on the ground floor and although it looked a little tired was clean and well furnished.
At £60 a night we thought it was a bit expensive but looking around it does seems to be average for the area at this time of the year (August).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searcher111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The main reason for us booking this place was because it accepted dogs unlike many others.
Upon arrival we were welcomed and shown to our room which was at the front of the hotel and was large and clean with a comfy bed.
The dogs were allowed into the bar where the friendly locals were all welcoming and made our stay, lots of fun and laughter going on.
Breakfast was great very tasty

If you want somewhere spotless clean and modernised this is not the place for you, but if your more than happy to have a good location, a comfy bed, room with everything you need, great hospitality then look no further!

A note also to the young lady that was on the bar saturday night, rushed off her feet but always friendly, smiling, welcoming... A delight to be served by

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute over the phone. On Arrival we were met by the owner Alex who was very welcoming and were shown to a comfortable and clean room at the back of the property. The first night we ate in the restaurant which we found to be really nice, the food was excellent and cooked by Alex. We were served by Mimi a very nice, polite and hardworking waitress. Later we had drinks at the bar which although really small was an authenticly scottish, filled with locals who were really friendly. We stayed at The Crags for three nights, the breakfasts were really good and the location excellent for sightseeing and the scenery was breathtaking. We would highly recommend a stay and thought The Crags was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 348hughie348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I were in Callendar for a week, our base for excursions into the Trossachs and the coast. We lodged at another guesthouse but frequented the Crags bar and restaurant several times. Fantastic! We can't wait to come back again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank 8Lucy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for just one night on the way to catch the ferry,we were made feel right at home,we have a son called Jack, he loved the place,our dog, Spock was allowed in the bar with us, amazing people, would highly recommend, Des

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#5 of 34 in Callander
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crags Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crags Hotel

Address: 101 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: $85 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crags Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crags Hotel has been taken under new management as of the middle of June 2017, we are very excited to make the place our own and to welcome our new and returning guests. The hotel is located in the heart of Callander, which is surrounded by stunning scenery and historic Scottish landmarks. At the moment, the restaurant is open for breakfast for hotel guests, but we hope to have it open during the day and into the evening in the very near future. If you are looking for somewhere with lots of character, a warm welcome and friendly locals, the Crags is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crags Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crags Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing