We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovely setting”
Review of Coombe Cellars

Coombe Cellars
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #68 of 140 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Coombe Cellars is a quirky yet stylish establishment that is perfect for escaping the demand that often comes hand in hand with everyday life. With a wide choice of starters, light bites, mains, and sharing platters, as well as an extensive drinks menu, you’ll be able to choose from a wide range of freshly prepared dishes that are sure to satisfy even the toughest food critics. This relaxed pub, bar, and restaurant also has a great outdoor space that’s perfect for a spot of al fresco dining during the summer months - enjoy stunning views of the estuary as you kick back, relax and unwind in truly special surroundings. There is plenty of car parking available, and we are also child friendly, so please feel free to bring your little ones along too. In addition to our magnificent interiors, we also offer a fabulous outdoor dining space that’s perfect for alfresco dining all year round.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for an impromptu meal on our way on our holidays and what can I say it was absolutely amazing. From the service to the food will be back soon.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MGM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The position of Coombe Cellars is quite magical. It's right on the shoreline of the Teign Estuary and almost all the tables have stunning views. It is a big establishment, and perhaps a bit institutional, starting with its automated system for booking tables. However, our Sunday lunch outing there was very satisfying. Three of us had roasts, two roast beef and one roast pork. They were all good. The quantities were sensible, so not the biggest portions in Devon, but quite adequate. The meat was excellent and the vegetables were great. The star piece, however, was the fourth member of our party's fish and chips. Really well cooked fish, not at all oily, and delicious double fried chips. The mini deserts are a really good idea, excellently executed. They are enough to satisfy the after dinner craving for something sweet, without leaving you feeling stuffed. The apple and rhubarb crumble was particularly good. The service was quick and friendly. Prices are what you would expect from this sort of restaurant. More than a local pub but not as much as as anything describing itself as "gastro". We were well pleased with our choice and will probably go again.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited sat evening after short wait shown to our window table which had superb view of estuary. Pork belly with scallops cooked well well followed by a chocolate and peanut bombe which was rich and superb.Food and service very good and priced reasonable drinks overpriced

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once again rubbish, family group of 14 out for special meal to relax for the afternoon. Food came out promptly but that was about it, roast was swimming in oil and bland and the service was non existent, here for 3 hours and during that time no glasses were collected and plates left in front of us for a couple of hours, had to tell the barmaid twice to come and collect them, didn't even clean the table. Poor girl, seems like she was running the show with limited experience alone with no supervision.

Won't be coming again, gave them another chance but with the over priced food and the real deal breaker being the rubbish service, it just doesn't cut it, they don't seem to care.

£15.50 for a burger and a few fries??? The view doesn't really warrant that price!

Place looks lovely but that's where it ends I'm afraid!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank AlexToze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visted Combe Cellars as a family of 5 recently on a Saturday night. Our starters and desserts were nice and the service from the waitress polite. However two of the mains, pork belly with scallops and the lamb koftas salad was very poor. We did complain to the waitress, a new pork belly was brought out. I wrote an email to the manager explaining what had happened with the mains, expecting a response...nothing more. Despite me phoning after no response from them for three days I was assured that I would get a reply...it is now alomst a week later and nothing. This is extreemely poor...not even a courtesy email to say they had received my email and would contact me soon. Very disappointing....you cant rely on the view to run a business!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Cellars also viewed

Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Bishopsteignton, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 

Been to Coombe Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing