We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply glorious!”
Review of Coombe Cellars

Coombe Cellars
Ranked #63 of 132 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Price range: $13 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Coombe Cellars is a quirky yet stylish establishment that is perfect for escaping the demand that often comes hand in hand with everyday life. With a wide choice of starters, light bites, mains, and sharing platters, as well as an extensive drinks menu, you’ll be able to choose from a wide range of freshly prepared dishes that are sure to satisfy even the toughest food critics. This relaxed pub, bar, and restaurant also has a great outdoor space that’s perfect for a spot of al fresco dining during the summer months - enjoy stunning views of the estuary as you kick back, relax and unwind in truly special surroundings. There is plenty of car parking available, and we are also child friendly, so please feel free to bring your little ones along too. In addition to our magnificent interiors, we also offer a fabulous outdoor dining space that’s perfect for alfresco dining all year round.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

After a hard day of shopping we stopped in to Coombe Cellars for a late lunch / early dinner - and wine, of course.

Positioned on the banks of an old smugglers' cove, this place is a hidden gem!

The food was delicious, the service friendly, and the view stunningly beautiful!

Thank LuxuriousNomad_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 195 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a bevy on the way home from walking the dogs with a friend.
We say outside and admired the stunning views.
I will return to check out the dinning!

Thank emzlanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We visited the Coombe Cellars on a Sunday evening. The "Chic Contemporary Decor" looked a little tired to me, but there was a good atmosphere.
We were told the table was not ready, so we went to the bar for a drink.We waited to be served at he bar for so long that our waitress took us to our table before we managed to get our drinks. We then waited for 10 minutes before she came back to the table for us to order.
We ordered drinks and main course and it was still awhile before our drinks came so we had already been there for half an hour!
The food was OK but nothing special.The waitress was talking at another table for some time before she came back to us.
The final bill was over £100 for 3 main course and sweets plus drinks and I felt a little underwhelmed by the whole experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for the review.
I am sorry to hear you had to wait a while. We will look at reviewing that process to avoid such a wait in the future.
kind Regards

Coombe Cellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I popped in for a catch up lunch during his reading week for uni. All staff were very friendly and the person that looked after us, Matt I believe his name was, was an absolute delight. I would definitely recommend.

Thank Freddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review. I shall pass your comments onto Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location, great view, friendly service, good food!what else do you need when you spend your holidays in Devon! Will definitely go back

Thank Marzena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coombe Cellars also viewed

Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Coombe Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing