We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Church House Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A great place to stay, very old with lots of a original features,we were given a really warm welcome, nothing was to much when ever we asked for anything. There is no need to go out looking for places to eat, the food is amazing, and reasonably priced, As a working Medium i would say the Inn is definately haunted, we had lots of experiences, Nothing threatening, we had a wonderful time. A big thank you to Kane and Carolynne, and all the staff.

From, Johnny and Terri Powell, Sean and Maggs Toft, and Tyrone and Jayne Maytum.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed for the weekend and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. the 13th century pub was very atmospheric with its candle lit tables and log burners - these were opened up and more logs added at breakfast time too. the breakfast was enormous for the full English and the menu including haddock was inviting.
the rooms were a little bit dated but large and very comfortable.
go here if you want to stay quietly just outside Newton Abbott or Totnes

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jillian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing building. Really enjoyed The Old Chuch House Inn and the owners hospitality.

It's just a bit dated, carpets, bathrooms and decor would benefit from some attention. However, it's still a fascinating place to stay if you don't mind the odd quirk.

Also, do visit the wonderful church across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeightonSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found this on Trip Advisor and the reviews convinced us to book; we were not disappointed.

Trying to book on the phone nearly put us off as they were busy serving but they always rang back. We were delighted when we arrived to a happy enthusiastic welcome and everything was relaxed and nothing too much trouble. Our room (12) was excellent and hot water taking time to come through not a problem.

Afternoon tea in the garden on the other side of the track and a walk up the footpath at the back. Friends joined us for dinner and the food was unpretentious better than average pub food. Only comment is there were quite a few dishes with cheese on which reduced the choice as one of us doesn't like cooked chees. Other than this very minor thing, everything else was great. Good wine list if slightly on the pricey side.

Fab full English breakfast (with saute pots for Sunday) hit the spot on both mornings.

Service excellent and Daren good fun. Kane was chatty and a very good host.

We will certainly return here and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room 12 was really good and our friends who stayed in room 11 were very happy with their room as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Found this place by chance searching for a get away place to stay out in the country, loved my room which was number 1 which is not in the old part of the inn which would have been nice as it is haunted, nothing happened in the new part, but will be going back for sure.

I didn't get to have a proper meal as I had eaten during the day while out visiting places in Devon, I did however have a bar meal and chose the pâté it was superb, so good in fact I had it both evenings I stayed :-)

The breakfasts were as good as the evening meals, NOT to be missed!!!!! All the staff are very friendly throughout my stay, the only niggle is room 1 does not have a good wifi reception and I struggled a bit to keep intouch with work, sad I know but even when away enjoying myself money still needs to come in.

I will def be back and look forward to meet the locals again as well as the owners and staff.

Room Tip: Room 1 was big with double and sinlgle beds, but wifi in the room was intermittent but not the be al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuulfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visit regularly for sunday lunch with my 87 year old Mother. Food is always of a very high standard and plenty of it. Special thanks to Darren, Chris, Josh, Alison and all those we don't see. Service always good and come away not needing to eat for the rest of the day. From reading other reviews I think an overnight stay is required to add to the excellent food and service. Thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank apian0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I were visiting the UK for a family wedding and had decided to have a few days holiday near Torquay where we had holidayed twice before many years ago.
I spent some time looking on the internet for a suitable Pub B&B and found this one and we were both very intrigued with both its age and locale.
We were both very, very pleased that we chose it and stayed for 5 nights. The pub itself is a dream and exceptionally old -- once you accept that a building of this age is not going to be a 5 star chrome and glass flashy resort then you will be in the right frame of mind.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious and backed onto meadows (interesting to be woken by the soft sound of cows tearing and munching grass) and was very quiet. The food, both breakfast and dinner, was very good and evening meals were very well priced.
The staff were extremely helpful and had a great sense of humour -- nothing was too much trouble. Kane, the host, was a mine of local information and helped us considerably with planning our daily trips.
The church across the way is well worth a visit for those interested in history the beautiful painted screen dates back to the 1430's and is still in great condition.
We highly recommend this inn for anyone looking for something a little different, remote enough but close enough to all attractions.
Would return in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
5.1 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Monks Retreat
The Monks Retreat
#1 of 3 in Broadhempston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Longacre Bed and Breakfast
Longacre Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 24 in Newton Abbot
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Address: Torbryan, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range: $99 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Church House Inn Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing