We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Church House Inn
Ranked #4 of 23 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and great fun”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed over for wassailing event . The (dog friendly) room was comfortable , clean, well equipped. the Inn warm, welcoming. the event was excellent fun, lots of morris dancing, and singing till late. We ate too, and the food was really good (haddock mornay reccomended). The staff were very obliging and friendly. Other family stayed too, including a baby, the inn has cot and highchair, and were helpful and welcoming. It was generally a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere.
The Inn is well placed for local trips, and would make an excellent base for a holiday. there are pleasant short walks nearby.

All in all it was brilliant , and we would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veritynewman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    36
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
64
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Old Church House just before the New Year. It was spontaneous and checked with the proprietor Kane for availability and we took room 11. Nice room there was a leak by the chimney due to the heavy rain throughout December but that didn't put us off as Kane pointed this out when he showed us the room. It was warm dry compfy with a lovely bathroom just don't burn your bum on the towel rack. We ate lunch and dinner both good and Darren thank you for your friendly service. We live in Teignmouth but from now on will use the Old Church House as our local. Thank you!! Aaron and Grahame

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornishboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Church House Inn at New Year. It was clean, comfortable and a charming experience. The food was first class. Dave landlord and his staff made sure our stay was an enjoyable experience. Would definately go again. At edge of Dartmoor ideal for walking. In heart of village, friendly locals. A must visit is the Community shop and tearooms, lovely food and staffed by villagers. Fab village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trendyoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The bedroom was clean and warm and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom which was newly decorated had a very nice bath and lots of hot water. The food was plentiful and very tasty and the staff were really friendly. Would recommend this lovely Inn to anyone, it's a real gem of a place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we have now stayed here a few times now and you get a warm welcome good food. And landlord and all the staff are very helpful will stay again and a big thank you to kane and all of the staff for a great time on halloween night thanks Maxine & Terry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjh029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Friends often talked of their stays here and were kind enough to invite my daughter and I along for 2 nights over Halloween. Upon arriving I was not disappointed, we made our way to our rooms which was in the old part of the inn, opened the door and all my daughter and I could say to each other was wow (room 15) like the rest of the inn so full of character. The landlord and staff were very friendly and chatty making you feel welcome and relaxed. The effort that had been put in to the Halloween party by not only the staff and landlord but also the guests (many of whom attend every year) was fantastic.

The downstairs is full of rooms with interesting nooks and crannies wherever you look. We had excellent evening meals on the second night, followed by drinks in the bar where both guests and staff talked about the history of the inn and their experiences whilst there. Breakfast next day was just what we needed before heading away back home.

The location is beautiful and unspoilt by modern trappings, the church opposite looks down on the inn and gave a distinct impression of being imposing. We spent time on the vast moors experiencing, rain, hail, snow, wind and sunshine all in the space of an hour, with my friend almost learning how to paddle!

I can't thank my friends enough for sharing this place with me and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckw311112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

13c Inn full of character with its own 'spirits'
We have been regulars at this Inn for 8 years. The Food is always excellent and plentiful. Roasts on a Sunday are to be highly recommended, especially the beef, which is sourced locally.
Friendly and welcoming landlord and staff. There is always a selection of Devon and Cornwall real ales.
Some good entertainment nights had here. You will arrive as strangers and leave as friends.
Highly recommended for a visit.

Tony & Maggie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
4.9 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
95 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
525 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 23 in Newton Abbot
414 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keyberry
The Keyberry
#5 of 23 in Newton Abbot
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Property: Old Church House Inn
Address: Torbryan, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Old Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Church House Inn Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing