We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Robin Cottage, Poundsgate, Devon.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newcott Farm Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Robin Cottage, Poundsgate, Devon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have never experienced this location before and so didn't know what to expect. What I did experience however, I cannot fault in any way!
Briefly the cottage is a very pleasant, relaxing and satisfying venue in which to spend a vacation, with beautiful and peaceful surroundings all round, giving easy access to many holiday attractions in the south Devon area.
To go into greater detail for those with an appropriate interest, I am quite badly physically disabled with a prosthetic leg and was advised that the layout of the cottage had been organised to cater for disabled visitors. The only fault I was to find was something that arose from a personal need so cannot really be included with any general criticism.
The drive to the cottage was very pleasant and on arrival at the cottage I was impressed by its overall appearance. Parking for the car is on a flat concrete surface immediately adjacent to the front door of the cottage. The front door is accessed by use of a flat, gently sloping ramp with handrail facilities provided in the form of a railing fence beside the ramp, making it all very suitable for negotiation by a disabled person. Entry into the premises presented no problems and I was greeted by an open, uncluttered layout with fine natural lighting that would illuminate any obstacles that may be introduced. The furniture was nicely arranged and presented no obstructions to general movement. I found the kitchen area to be very user-friendly for a disabled person with the sink, taps and all cupboards and drawers set at convenient heights and easily accessible. The bedroom areas were also user-friendly with a variety of easily-used amenities available (clothes drying rack, etc). Electrical appliances presented no problems and windows to the premises were easy to use. The bathroom, toilet and shower facilities are all in one room with disability handrails suitably positioned. The shower facility is adapted for use by disabled persons and I found it took a bit of use to become familiar with and confident of. I only used it twice but was more confident on the second occasion. The 'living room' opens out onto a small decking area by way of easily used French doors which presented no problems to pass through. The decking area is furnished with a table and chairs and is connected to the front of the house by an extension of the access ramp, presenting a comforting feeling of ease of access in the event of undesirable moments.
To the rear of the house is a grass area readily accessed by a grassed slope from the car parking area, 'furnished' with wildlife attractions and giving access to adjacent fields. The overall view is quite breathtaking, being easily visible from the living room dining table area of the cottage, this giving a most pleasant view especially at the beginning of the day. It also permitted fine views of a full moon rising over the horizon at the end of the day!
The cleanliness and maintenance of the premises cannot be faulted in any way and the friendliness of the owners was a final positive touch to a memorable stay. It is no wonder that visitors return to this venue year after year! I think we will too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, it is good to know that the Cottage worked for you and we take on board your one small problem. We would love to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Have just spent the most wonderful week staying in "Wren" cottage. We have been several times before but this was our first visit back after the renovations and it was just perfect. The whole place has been opened up with three sets of patio doors opening to the outside,even a set in the bedroom which has made the whole cottage so light and airy. There is now a great new private decking area to the side where you can sit and watch the wildlife. There were fresh eggs and a gorgeous cream tea waiting for us on arrival and Steve and Diane always make us so welcome.This is a perfect place to stay if you like peace and quiet and right on the moor, can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments, see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've been here 4 times now and have already booked in for next year, we love it so much! Perfect location for going out and about on the moor. Diane and Steve are brilliant , the accommodation is so comfy and has recently been extended to make it even better. Can't recommend it more highly, especially for a family with younger children. The view is amazing and it is so quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for your comments, it was lovely to see you again and thank you for the booking for next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a lovely return visit to wren cottage, it is light and spacious and very comfortable. The views from the cottage are stunning, even on a rainy day and it feels like the wildlife is right on your doorstep. Perfectly placed for walks on dartmoor, or day trips to near by attractions. Diane and Steve made the whole stay very easy!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Robin Cottage was a beautiful light and airy place to stay. Being welcomed with a home made Devon tea and eggs fresh from the hens set the scene for the friendly approach of Diane and Steve who have done so much to turn these two interconnecting cottages into the lovely places that they are. Its location in Dartmoor National Park is perfect for walking and visiting local villages. The Alpacas and Llamas were an additional joy. The whole ambience was so comfortable and inviting that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the cottage on some days. I would recommend it without hesitation and hope to revisit it some day soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnF51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, so please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

The cottages were perfect for us as we were two families, beautifully decorated, very homely and comfortable. Perfect location with beautiful views and a friendly service. We were amazed at the price especially at the time when everybody was hiking up their prices for Easter we were getting a discount.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherryshokooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks, it is really good to know that all the hard work over the winter has been worth it. Having the interconnecting door enabling the cottages to be used as one unit was what we wanted to achieve. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princetown, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Beautiful cottages set in the heart of Dartmoor, over looking the cute Alpacas. The renovations look brilliant adding to the comfort in this peaceful location. The new doors and window extentions add to the experience of the view so you can enjoy the tranquility. Diane and Steve are very friendly and helpful in recommending places to visit and they also run Llama walks which can be tailored to anyones ability. The cottages are maintained to a high standard and can cater for disabilities. Would love to live there, so will have to be satisfied with visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robinandwrencottages, Owner at Newcott Farm Cottages, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for all your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
5.4 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
5.9 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
7.9 mi away
Eastwrey Barton
Eastwrey Barton
#1 of 1 in Lustleigh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcott Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcott Farm Cottages

Property: Newcott Farm Cottages
Address: Poundsgate | Ashburton, Newton Abbot TQ13 7PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* self catering Holiday accommodation is in two cottages. Dartmoor scenery all around and only a five minute walk from open moorland, granite tors or the Dart Valley. A traditional Dartmoor pub is within easy walking distance. We are not a traditional farm, our Llamas and Alpacas graze peacefully in the fields nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newcott Farm Cottages Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing