We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local town centre pub well worth a visit”
Review of Teign Cellars

Teign Cellars
Ranked #10 of 130 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Teign Cellars is a craft beer, wine and cider bar that also serves awesome food. But don't be fooled, we are not a restaurant! We do our best to offer perfect customer service, the best drinking experience around and a bad language free zone. We are only human though and we don't always get it right. Most nights we offer a waitress service for food orders, but you are still welcome to order at the bar. We don't offer a drinks service at the table on any night. So if your fed up with the usual line up of drinks and boring food then give Teign Cellars a try
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local town centre pub well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't disappointed after picking up details on this pub on Trip Advisor. One of the best rump steaks I have had in recent years, perfectly cooked and my friend had the same. Service was friendly and it's very good value too. The surroundings are clean and tidy not plush but that's not a complaint. We are going to go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeanaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, Owner at Teign Cellars, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about us, it genuinely means a lot to us when people take time to write reviews about their experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    69
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beef Wellington Superb”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We eat here nearly every Friday and I have to say it is by far the best food around, everything is cooked fresh, and Stuart makes amazing food. We have been lucky as we have been trying out new dishes which will go on the new menu. If you have not ate here you are missing some superb food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food. Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I live locally but had missed this new beer pub until I spotted it on trip adviser. Obviously we had to go! They have a truly amazing selection of beers and a great selection of fruit and vegetable wines. Watch these, they have a kick. We called in on a Friday night and it was pretty busy. We had trouble finding seats but ordered food anyway. The food was great. We both had sizzling skillets which were delicious and were envious of some of the other food orders going past. Everything smelt and looked wonderful. We will definitely go back. It also boasts a great shop where they sell all these unusual beers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 568irenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply a great pub in Newton Abbot.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Being local I am lucky enough to be able to walk to the pub in 10mins and have regularly been visiting over the past couple of months. Why? well the atmosphere is generally good with mainly locals who appreciate quality beer and ciders, the choice is unusual and well kept, and no it is not a lager pub!. Stuart the landlord usually has 4 or 5 craft real ales well priced the cheapest at £1.85 average £3.40 plus frequently changing foreign and british QUALITY keg beers around 6 REAL still ciders and fizzy ones. Additionally a host of British and foreign beers are kept - so many there is actually a beer list with detailed descriptions of the more unusual styles.
Just two niggles - the bar has some uncomfortable furniture and a bit bright and some of the walls are a bit stark and some beers are quite expensive (the high strength unusual kegs beers can be £3 + for a HALF pint). And although I have not eaten the food looks good and everyone gives it very good reviews and business is good.
In summary an unusual drinking den that really has to be visited to be appreciated - a breath of fresh air!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank connosuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“It's pub grub Jim - but not as we have known it!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Popped in on a quiet lunchtime and ordered the burger.

Comes with sweetcorn - not a small pile of watery reheated tinned corn, but a length of freshly cooked corn on the cob, complete with the little skewers to hold it at each end. The chips are first class - delicately crunchy on the outside and floury on the inside - and portion size is perfect - not a huge portion; not a tiny portion; but just right. Not a hint of greasiness here, nor in the burger itself. It is a 10oz burger, and that, people, is _seriously_ large. Don't plan to eat supper if you have this for lunch.

It is freshly made, so takes a while to prepare, cook and deliver to your table. If that is a problem, there is a MacD*****s down the road. Trust me - it's worth the short wait, and you can savour a half of one of the superb real ales or craft beers on offer while you are waiting.

Fully recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric_the_Bish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teign Cellars also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Teign Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing