We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Teign Cellars

Teign Cellars
Ranked #7 of 129 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Teign Cellars is a craft beer, wine and cider bar that also serves awesome food. But don't be fooled, we are not a restaurant! We do our best to offer perfect customer service, the best drinking experience around and a bad language free zone. We are only human though and we don't always get it right. Most nights we offer a waitress service for food orders, but you are still welcome to order at the bar. We don't offer a drinks service at the table on any night. So if your fed up with the usual line up of drinks and boring food then give Teign Cellars a try
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

What a breath of fresh air absolutely loved it if you like beer and or cider and great food then this place is a must really friendly staff too

Helpful?
Thank Mister N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    68
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It's not a pub, it's not a wine bar - it's a beer bar”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a find - you won'y find anything else like this south of Bristol. A Cathedral of beers, there are always 3-4 on barrel (real), several more on keg, and literally hundreds of bottled beers from all over the world.There are blackboards giving current guest choices but also a beer menu - a comprehensive menu of bottled beers, with good tasting notes, from around the world. Many of the bottled beers are available to buy and take away from the cellar shop (open during shop times). To accompany your beer tasting experience is a range of tasty savouries (I particularly enjoyed sharing a Chorizo Scotch Egg) up to full on meals of very high quality. Prices are very reasonable. There are also a large selection of ciders, wines and other drinks for those who don't worship at the altar of beer. All-in-all, a very enjoyable and unusual experience in an unexpected location. As the banner outside reads, "Under new attitude".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOmerGiramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I chose to visit the Teign Cellars after looking at the review on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.

It started with a Facebook conversation and offer from the staff to book a table for dinner and resulted in a welcome from the staff, a choice of tasters of the many ales on offer and a cracking meal for a very reasonable price. We were recommended some beers based on what I liked to drink normally.

After trying a few samples we sat down and ordered from the menu - 2 T bones (rare/medium rare), burger and a sausage hash skillet. The sausage hash came with chips, rice or bread. As a suggestion maybe that veg /salad would have been a better side due to the generous amount of potato already in the dish?

The steaks were well cooked and came with chips, whole corn cob, silverskin onions and mushroom, however I think the cooking had been mixed up, perhaps a flag in the rare one to signify it was still mooing (I was the rare one!) would have helped.

Beer was very good, as was the Rattler cider.

A lovely evening in a nice bright pub with a relaxed atmosphere and definitely a drinkers pub to sample nice beer with friends, not one to get drunk in as quickly as possible. I will definitely be back to try more of the beers on offer.

The shop looks pretty good too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem of a pub”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have visited a few times to enjoy the vast selection of Ales! However it was only recently we realised we could eat too. Amazing cheese and meat platter to accompany the amazing ales.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank megandnickUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned pub atmosphere”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We selected to eat here after reading favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. We were surprised to find it was a pub/restaurant but hey, the staff were very friendly and it had a great pub atmosphere (rare these days). Teign Cellars serves real ale and, from what I could see, all kind of speciality alcoholic drinks (the drinks list was twice the length of the menu!). However, we had steak and chips and spare ribs and chips and it was fine - good pub grub. The manager told us that he was soon going to extend the menu and was in the process of buying a coffee machine. It looked like they had a really good off-licence as well. I would recommend it if you don't mind a noisy 'pubby' atmosphere and enjoy real ale and good pub grub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teign Cellars also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Teign Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing