We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, super food, very nice”
Review of Gurkha Chef

Gurkha Chef
Ranked #10 of 130 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Gurkha Chef is the only exclusive Nepalese restaurant in Newton Abbot serving delicious Nepalese cuisine and Indian cuisine.We also do take outs and delivery service.Please visit our website 'gurkhanewtonabbot' for viewing our menu.
england
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely people, super food, very nice”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

5th visit to Gurkha Chef and it just get better every time. Why? Well you think you'll have something you used to enjoy at the Indian down the road (where everything comes out the same colour these days) and the presentation is different, the flavours are distinctive and it's hot and plentiful. As we've discovered new dishes the wonderful chef will spice it up for you if it doesn't quite hit the spot! There is no hurrying you out of your table/seat on a Saturday night because someone else has come in and the proprietors are getting the most money per square foot they can. Relaxing evening and I hope you enjoy your visit there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank schooltaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    48
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best in newton abbot”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

been here three times now ,excellent on all levels each visit, and we wont be bothering with other curry houses in newton again
décor and table cloths not so great but the food ,service,and general feel of the place out way that little aspect of the dinning experience, sadly I think hes going to be so popular it will be difficult to get a table in the future

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helios s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently eaten at the gurkha and it was really lovely. We tried the base camp curry and the everest curry, both were lovely. King prawn puri and scallop starters were also yummy. Very good service, very reasonably priced and better than other indians in our local area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelondon1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I would echo all the positives. We pre-booked a table for 12 people - service was efficient and friendly - food was delicious. Would defo recommend this restaurant. Good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawlish
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bland Gurkhali Butter Chicken”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a takeaway last night in the company of four staff members and I ordered the Gurkhali Butter Chicken at £8.95 and an egg fried rice. The curry was very watery on top of the curry and the flavour was quite bland, it was like having an ASDA shop curry which would cost £3. Not really memorable and I left a quarter of it, not really the quality expected when you are paying £11-90 and even though our bill was approx. £40 still had to pay a delivery charge of £2. My local Gurkha restaurant in Dawlish 100% better

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Chef also viewed

Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing