We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 2 Delves Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Afternoon Sun
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Afternoon Sun
Unwind with a glass
Lounge with kitchen beyond
Lounge
Dining Area
Ah .. the upstairs floor plan, also useful
The downstairs floor plan ... thought this might be helpful
Ah ... the new drive; now part of the National Cycle Network
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kfit2go
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was exactly what we expected when booking. We travelled from New Zealand for a family wedding and Delves Cottages was the perfect base for our four nights.

Clean, well equipped, comfortable and in a peaceful spot from which to go for walks, bike rides up onto Dartmoor and to the odd country pub for lunch.

Brandon welcomed us on the first morning and gave us some ideas of where to go food shopping etc - even left us a bottle of wine to enjoy.

Overall an excellent find and I would stay again if ever back in the area. Highly recommend - thanks Brandon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhairgi...
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great garden”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Delves cottage greeted us with a warm welcome of wine and the owner Brandon was very attentive. The property was ideal for a family with a huge garden for playing and chickens which provided delicious eggs for breakfast. We had glorious weather for our stay and made the most of alfresco dining. A travel cot was provided for youngsters and the kitchen was brilliantly stocked for making all manner of food. The bedrooms were comfortable though we didn't use the bunk bed room- which was adjoined to the twin room. This property is ideally located for a number of local attractions and walks. We would have liked to have some lamps to light the main rooms at night but this was a minor niggle. This was the perfect property for a chilled out week and we would book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H
1 review
“Fresh eggs”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage has everything you need , was great for us with the dog ,straight out of the front door no road to cross was a great walk to take the dog .You do need a car to get out and about and a visit to the Cromwell Arms in Bovey Tracy not to be missed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely accommodation, great welcome”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely peaceful property - excellent for our purposes, very friendly and welcoming owner - particularly enjoyed the chats with the chickens. Excellent location as a base for exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: no curtain in shower room window
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon S
Kirk Ireton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in fantastic location”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property is easily accessed and only a couple of minutes drive from major road networks though you'd never guess it once you're there as it's incredibly quiet and peaceful. The house was lovely and snug and one of the best equipped I've stayed in, with a great range of pristine pans and oven trays, plentiful glasses and plates etc, and thick fluffy towels. The beds were really comfortable and the whole place was spotlessly clean.

It was the little touches that made our stay, a little jug of milk in the fridge so we could make a hot drink when we arrived. A nice array of that months magazines. Even two freshly laid eggs one day!

I only wish we'd been there longer as it's a great location to access so many places from. We had a couple of great days out though, and some really nice evening walks along the woodland cycle path right by the cottage.

A really cosy place to stay with great hosts and lots to do. Couldn't recommend it more and plan to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPa...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family holiday cottage in a great peaceful location, excellent for children of all ages.”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family (2 adults, 5 children and 2 dogs) had the best holiday, the owners Brandon and Karen (leaving next door) gave us a very warm welcome to their cottage.

My children played with their children in the beautiful and large garden/surroundings and allowed them to help feed and put to bed the chickens and duck.

Wonderful cottage and very friendly owner/neighbours.

Couldn’t ask for more.

Thank you.

(Will be booking for 2 weeks next year)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings and friendly neighbours
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottieand...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location -,poor accommodation”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The location of this property is wonderful. Lovely walks from the door and about a mile or so from A38. There is a huge garden, with a large chicken run and a small woodland. Great space for children and dogs. However the garden is sprinkled with broken toys ( slide; trampoline) and there are a number of ramshackled outhouses so caution is advisable if you have adventurous kids! The cottage itself is very clean however is a bit like visiting your granny and not particularly in a good way. The old style TV does not have any BBC channels and if you want to watch a DVD then you need to remove the free view scart and plug in the DVD one! (Took me two days to work this out!). There are no lamps and as only one wall light worked the lighting was from the overhead main light. The kitchen is fairly well equipped and there is a washing machine, dryer and clothes line. The central heating did not work but there was a portable heater ( although in August there was only one night it was needed). The bedrooms do not have any bedside lamps; one of the twin beds the springs are poking through. The bedding was clean but well worn, just one pillow to each bed which were old, heavily marked and uncomfortable. I understand that some travellers to the cottage liked the friendliness of Brandon ( the neighbour and cottage manager) - personally I found his poping in a little less adorable as I do not really want to be bothered whilst on holiday - but this is a personal point and not one shared by others. There is no wifi but Brandon did give us the code for his but did not want any streaming. In summary it's a great location but an uncomfortable cottage which is very dated and we would not return or recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The cottage
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing