We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Place”
Review of Penpark

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penpark
Ranked #7 of 22 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning Place”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Penpark for a very brief weekend tour of the area. I have long wanted to see the house, designed by Clough Williams-Ellis, the architect who built Portmeirion in Wales. His personaility is very much in evidence in the house, which has been superbly maintained and retains its original character, even down to the wire bell pull at the entrance door.

The huge room we had was fantastic with a private balcony overlooking the immaculate garden and with fabulous views across the grounds to the edge of the moor beyond. The accommodation is very smart and very clean and in keeping with the house.

The hosts could not have been kinder and we thoroughly enjoyed our all-too-brief stay. Strongly recommended!!

Room Tip: All rooms look great. You can't go wrong. Treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbuy
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I would advise anyone to experience this beutiful house, run by the most attentive host. We had a most peaceful night and a delicious breakfast. We were first served tea in a beutifully furnihed sitting room, then taken to our room, with a perfect bathroom. A memorable place.

Room Tip: All were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights at this lovely country b and b. The situation is beautiful and so peaceful, set in lovely, very well tended gardens. Breakfast was delicious, the room very comfortable and the hostess, Maddy was absolutely charming and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights recently. Beautiful house and gorgeous room, the breakfast was great too. Great place to stay, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSyrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked Penpark having searched for a family friendly B&B in Dartmoor. We had the garden room which was perfect for us (couple with 2 year old). A cot was provided.
The room, house and gardens are absolutely gorgeous. I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere nicer. Breakfast was lovely and even catered for my vegan husband and the owners are personable and friendly.
Seriously worth staying here.

Room Tip: The garden suite is a large room with double bed and loads of room for a travel cot. There's al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised as we drove into Penpark, having called at the last minute and nabbing the last available room. The house is set on a beautiful five acres of gardens, lawns and trees. We had the 'garden room' on the lower ground floor with french doors opening onto a terrace. It was spacious, nicely furnished and well equipped. It seemed a tad chilly and damp at first but that was quickly fixed by using the heater. The other parts of the house were elegant, roomy and most attractive with lovely furniture and rugs. We had a good breakfast (off nice china) looking out over a lovely English garden onto a heavenly view of Devon. Madeleine Gregson was charming, friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snowhite22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We felt like house guests yet in an exclusive hotel. The Garden Room was very comfortable with its own private entrance. Due to its position in the countryside it was silent at night without any passing traffic noise to disturb and we slept very well. The hosts were very welcoming, and a delicious breakfast was served in a dining room with wonderful views down over the valley. If you are planning a trip to Dartmoor, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTHGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 22 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.6 mi away
Old Church House Inn
Old Church House Inn
#4 of 22 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penpark

Property: Penpark
Address: Pen Park Bickington, Newton Abbot TQ12 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Penpark Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing