We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Absolutely nothing negative to say about our one night stay at this hotel. We arrived early, but our room was available to us and this helped in planning the limited time that we had available to spend with our friends who live in the town. It's a pleasant 20-25 minute walk into the town from the hotel, so no real necessity to use a bus or taxi. Premier Inn breakfast up to usual standard. Excellent on site parking. We shall be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 689 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Location. Fine for business in Heathfield and right next to the racecourse. Would suggest Goodrington Sands Paignton for a more scenic area. Beware that traffic is a nightmare in rush hour
Rooms. Up to the usual PI high standards
Restaurant. Next to a Beefeater and accessible through an uncovered walkway which is not good if its lashing down
Hotel has a lift to all floors which is good for the less able
Quite pricey at £90 per night including breakfast but it was booked at the last minute

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halibutWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were here for over a week while visiting for the funeral of a family member. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. They went out of their way to make anything we wanted happen. The room we had was larger than normal, with extra beds, which was very convenient as other family members were also arriving in town. Even though they had their own rooms, ours was convenient to meet. Minor complaints - there is only one chair to sit on - it is at the desk, convenient for computer use, but the other person must sit on a bed. The housekeeping was not perfect - pillow cases were often not changed for several days, and we were never sure how many towels we would get. We ate many meals at the Beefeater next door and learned to love the staff there as well. The hotel prices were competitive and the hotel itself much nicer than others we have stayed in near here. The restaurant is a little pricy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETHPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay here.
My room was very clean however i didnt give it 5 for cleanliness as someone elses hair was in the plug hole in the bath and one of the pillowcases had black mascara on it....however everything else was fine. My room was more than adequate i did feel the bed was a little worn and same with the sofa i could feel the springs digging into me. Shower was lovely....could do with some biccies in the room!! I ate at beefeater right next to the hotel that was nice enough and staff friendly. Breakfast was brill and definitely better than some 5 star hotels i have stayed at. Overall i would stay again for business however i wouldnt say it was ideal for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ames_1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

On our over night stay we visited the beefeater attached to the premier inn. I have no idea what the bad reviews were saying because it was the a very enjoyable meal, the staff were more than helpful and the food was on time and hot. The meal itself was very delicious. The room we stayed in was clean, comfy and perfect. The recipition staff was very helpful and welcoming. Would defiantly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just stayed at Newton Abbott premier inn great stay would be great if going to the race course next door very clean helpful staff good restraint next door beefeater easy to get to and near to lot of other places around Torbay


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

newly built by the look of it so nice and clean. rooms as expected from a premier inn. fast check inn. pleasant staff member. free 30 mins wi fi.
the restaurant next door is an absolute joke. try to avoid it !
very poor service. at one point i watched a man start removing filters from above the grill whilst food was being cooked. one filter dropped onto the grill. great roars of laughter from the kids cooking the food. one blond long haired girl cooking without a hat !!! when i challenged them about the food i was told some had been thrown. no leadership seen in this place whatsoever. 30 minute wait at the bar..drinks ordered when we sat down for food and after 20 minutes i asked again and told they had forgotten. thought about not paying for the food to be honest but decided to retire for the evening. im writing to whitbreads about the whole episode. we decided not to take breakfast there the next day after seeing this lot in action.
our waitress "yes we got two off sick today..are they sick or have they been to the carnival ?"
laughable.
price however 60 pounds for two rooms is great so you might be better of taking a little drive into town for dinner if thats possible

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyesteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
0.8 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#31 of 87 in Torquay
589 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
500 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel

Address: Newton Abbot Racecourse Newton Road | Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range: $68 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The serenity of Dartmoor National Park and the fun of River Dart Country Park are just minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing