We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once discovered , never forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Linny

The Linny
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Once discovered , never forgotten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our third visit to The Linney , and it did not let us down . Fillet steak was lovely , as was the Steak and Ale Pie , and all the other main courses we have had there , with a good choice of vegatables . The sweet menu is great . Would recomend the ginger pudding with custard . Booking is a must even in the week . Best to book for the bar area , because you can order from the main menu and bar menu and specials board . Will be visting again soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank small114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    59
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Break From The Norm And Love It !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited this restuarant sometime ago with friends and had forgotten about it to be honest.

Fancied somewhere different with friends and made the call to book. From the call (and first impressions count), I was asked whether booking for resturant or bar......explained that I hadn't been for a while to which it was kindly suggested that I booked the bar to have the 'full' choice of menu's......that had great variety, good pricing and specials above the bar.

Our group had for starters.....Soup and seafood......real flavour and plent of it. Main courses ranged from Roast pork, steak and kindney pudding, fish and ham salad........all of us quietly impressed and would return.

Staff all pleasent and friendly and when we arrived at 19:30 pub busy which is a very good sign.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a real traditional sunday lunch, lots of veg, good choice of meats, and very nice roast potatoes. Well worth a trip, and very good price too. Sweet board had an excellent choice, and very friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“always a good choice,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food here is always very good,especially the sunday roasts,all the veg is locally sourced,and the staff are very friendly,the sort of place you would return to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1960Quilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great food, pity about the open door........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I visited lat week for a lunchtime bar meal. We last visited a year or so ago. Meal and ambience was well up to expectations with one notable exception, make sure you sit well away from the entrance / main bar area as most f the tables there suffer from a freezing draught from the main door each tie the waiting staff enter with meals as the route from the kitchen requires them to enter from outside. The doors do not self close so the diners were repeatedly getting up and down to close the doors as it was a really old and windy day. We solve the problem by moving farther into the pub. Pity as the overall experience suffers as many f the people around us were moaning about the situation. By writing this feedback I hope that the owners simply fit a self closing device...otherwise food quality, service and value are excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tthelinny, Owner at The Linny, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review we do ask the waiting staff to keep the door to the bar shut as much as possible as we are aware that there can be a draft. when at all possible they use the internal stairs to bring the food down to the bar. We do try hard to keep the bar warm, with two fires and central heating on as it is important to us that our customers enjoy their visit to The Linny. Thank you again for your comments which we have listened to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Linny also viewed

 
Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 

Been to The Linny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing