We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Decor, Re-vamped Menu!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dartmoor Halfway Inn - CLOSED

Dartmoor Halfway Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: This restaurant is listed as a B&B under hotels. It is also a good restaurant which deserves a separate rating.
Teignmouth , Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fresh Decor, Re-vamped Menu!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Called in for Sunday lunch and were lucky to find a table as several people were having to wait or find somewhere else! Many reserved tables indicated this was a popular establishment. We hadn't visited for nearly two years and the décor was a nice improvement. We noticed other people being served their meals and noted that presentation was very different to our last visit, square plates, chips served in mini chip -frying baskets on the plate which you just tip out yourselves, baby-leaf salad instead of veg. The menu was missing several choices we used to enjoy but we ordered our meals and were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. The 2 for 1 on main courses meant that the increase in prices since our last visit worked out about average for local eateries, although portions weren't as great on the meals we had. The roast dinners were very generous portions from what we saw so at just under £14, the 2 for 1 deal was excellent value.
We both enjoyed our meals and the ambiance but missed the homeliness of the way meals were served previously. The modern trend of serving food in little receptacles admittedly, looks smart but we preferred the whole meal on the plate, the portions used to be more substantial, as we remember, having selected the same meal this time as we chose last visit.
Nevertheless, we will return for a roast dinner soon, good value for money there!
A thank you to the lovely staff for their hospitality.
Pleasant location and lots of parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacemma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    10
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Dartmoor Half Inn is situated between the A38 and Newton Abbot at Bickington in Devon, really easy to find. We have been going here for years and have not yet been let down. Always a warm welcome as you enter and there is normally a good ambiance. It can get quite busy especially over the weekend so booking in advance is advised. A good menu with daily specials as well as the normal menu, they are also offering a 2 for 1 deal on all meals, excellent value. The food always comes up piping hot and well presented; it can be a bit of a wait during busy periods as the food is all prepared fresh.
There is also a camp site attached to the rear of the pub which seems quite popular especiall in the summer. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NigePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not going back again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The most disgusting experience I have ever seen, a few of us had come back from a very pleasant evening in Exeter and because we were a large group of mainly males we were treated like we were not welcome, I am a female and I was digusted by the so called lady talking to them like dirt knowing full well that these guys were up for a few celebratory drinks, not once did any of us expect one of the guys to receive a comment saying he is lucky its too late for a beating, considering I work in customer service I realise myself that the customer deserves to be treated right and if they cause problems then that is the time to discuss and resolve the issue. Never go there if you are in a group. Bring back the old owners

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJY88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

After having stayed many times before but Not For a few yrs we decided on a visit,booked a pitch on campsite n reserved a table in the bar for 7.30 easy eh?
No apparently not,we walked in only to see the bar full!! I asked for our table in the bar only to be told were full and we have a better table for you! No I want what I have reserved please I said and that's why we spent 5whole
Mins reserving it on our
Mobile,well you can't I was told... Ok off we go out of the bar down some stairs to some room virtually in the dark,food came as described but defo cafe standard not good by any means,when I asked how we leave via car park barrier at 7.30am I was told you can't co's no one on site till 9 ish?prisoners then? Charming eh. Back into
Motorhome by 10pm only to find a rave being held two fields away and after talking to the only other visitor we find it's been on fer two nits! They could if warned us!! Music so loud it vibrated our vehicle 4am it stopped finally!!
When we drove
Out nxt day it is clear it's being used as a very scruffy dirty residents site as clearly had rubbish etc around vans
I would advise don't turn in but keep on going

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drewstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value, well cooked food and a friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped by chance as we were passing and ready for lunch. Really friendly welcome, with good value food (two-for-one deal) which was well cooked and presented. Service was quick and efficient, and the atmosphere was jolly and relaxed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_to_the_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartmoor Halfway Inn also viewed

Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 
Ipplepen, Newton Abbot
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing