We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, well cooked food and a friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dartmoor Halfway Inn - CLOSED

Dartmoor Halfway Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: This restaurant is listed as a B&B under hotels. It is also a good restaurant which deserves a separate rating.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value, well cooked food and a friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped by chance as we were passing and ready for lunch. Really friendly welcome, with good value food (two-for-one deal) which was well cooked and presented. Service was quick and efficient, and the atmosphere was jolly and relaxed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Red_to_the_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    10
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We popped in on the off chance after a short holiday, we had the slow roasted belly pork and barbecue chicken, the food was cooked to the highest standards and was delicious. The staff were all helpful and friendly, overall a fabulous culinary experiences. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It was also 2 for 1 which made it great value too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived with out booking and where greeted by friendly staff. We ordered the Sunday lunch, we chose Lamb. The Lamb was beautiful and the portion was substantial. My only concern was that I did not ask for more gravy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianbbest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon united kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overpriced!!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We decided to pop in for a quick sandwich and coffee. On arrival we were asked what we would like before even sitting down or looking at the menu! We decided to sit in the conservatory so the little one could have a play. The outside play area was lovely to use whilst waiting for our food to arrive.

The cutlery on the table was dirty and stained, so had to use the cutlery from the next table. The food arrived within 20mins and looked ok. I had a cheese sandwich which came with a few crisps and salad...... pre packed salad leaves and lots of red onion! The cheese was bought pre packed, tasted like rubber and was covered with white powder from the packet. It was not worth £4.95 and a small coke costing £2.85!! More than a lager shandy.
I have come away feeling really disappointed with this meal and the overall price i paid for 6 people. Would much prefer paying alittle more for fresh food!! This place has gone down hill since our last visit, we would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cog_hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow 2 for 1 and still excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Brilliant value with 2 for 1 every day and one of the best steaks I've had for a long time, no compromise on quality and quantity even at these unbeatable prices. Would highly recommend giving it a try :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank classic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartmoor Halfway Inn also viewed

Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 
Ipplepen, Newton Abbot
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing