We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant -a hidden gem !!!”

The Thatched Cottage
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
chorley
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant -a hidden gem !!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant on Saturday 16th Feb with my step son, his partner and my 13 year old son following the reviews on trip advisor. We pre booked as was recommended and we were glad we did.This restaurant was fantastic. From the outside you would never guess what a great establishment it is.The service was really good, very attentive without being too much and the food was wonderful.It was quite empty when we arrived but we had been told we would be squeezed in when we booked as it was valentines weekend but we were not made to feel like they had accommodated us in the slightest. I had chosen an early time slot of 6.15 and at no time did we feel rushed or squeezed in !from the first moment we arrived we felt very well looked after and the staff were excellent, especially the maitre'd. The food was a delight- enjoyed by all our party and the place soon filled up. They even went to the trouble of providing another pre dinner appetizer for my son as the one offered with compliments of the chef had seafood in it and he has an allergy.Again it was no trouble and was done efficiently and without any fuss.The atmosphere is like an intimate dinner party at a friends house, wonderful !. We will definitely go here again when in the area and would recommend it for a special occasion. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    36
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Xcellence”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a great find! We went on Valentines day and were staying in a local hotel. Had pre booked due to Tripadvisor reviews and were not dissapointed. The menu was great but even better the food was fantastic! The service and staff were very attentive and every course was a pure gastronomic delight. No wonder the restaurant was full. Although it was not cheap the final bill was
reasonable and in my opinion great value for what we received, Well done Thatched Cottage.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterluckings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Happened upon this restaurant whilst in the area so looked up some reviews and decided to pay it a visit sometime when the opportunity presented itself. Did so for my husband's birthday and was not disappointed. The food is of a very high standard with ingredients that complement each other perfectly and the hosts are wonderful - very pleasant and attentive without being overbearing.
Would recommend this to everyone and will definitely go back. They made the event special.
Oh, and it has a 5 National Hygiene rating too (the highest you can be awarded), if that's something you consdier when choosing where to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loveholidaysandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West .Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A superb dining experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We ate here on Sunday 28th October 2012 & rate this our best dining experience in 8 weeks visit to U.K. Greeting & attention from the maitre 'd smacked of earlier gracious eras whilst our food was of the highest order. Unfortunately, due to lapse of time, we cannot detail our choices but paid a reasonable price considering the quality meal & would definitely return regularly but this was our last week in U.K. Ambience, service & food were all of the highest order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellence from start to finish.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We found this gem from Trip Advisor reviews. Forgot to book until the afternoon of the visit, and although they were really busy they accomodated us beautifully. A wet and windy evening outside, a warm and cosy interior. A very warm welcome, and attentive manager/owner? We were given plenty of time to order as we were busy chatting! We started with a complimentary appetiser which was delicious. Our starters and mains were beautifully presented and the service was very good indeed. I refused a homemade bread roll because I don't tolerate gluten very well, and they brought me a wonderful warm homemade gluten free roll, very unexpected and nice. The food itself was amazing, we all very much enjoyed what we had chosen. Only one of our party managed dessert, and that looked wonderful. We all had complimentary petit fours, which had to be squeezed in....then coffee. We were given as much time as we needed to sit and digest our meal, and all through the evening the staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole evening was a pleasure. We will be telling all our friends and returning ourselves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lavendergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatched Cottage also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing