We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Long Barn garden Dining lounge to door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Long Barn garden
Dining lounge to door
Dining lounge from door
TV lounge
Games room
Kitchen
Super kingsize bedroom with en-suite
Long Barn - Ensuite shower room
Twin bedded room with en-suite
Single room
Long Barn - Family bedroom
Kingsize double room with ensuite bathroom
Long Barn - Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom corridor
Heated indoor swimming pool
Indoor play barn for all the family
Outdoor Adventure Play Area
View of the complex from the paddock
Spend Christmas at Long Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
keitharms...
Rogiet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation”
Reviewed October 5, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Our first visit to the Torquay area. We researched a location that we were able to have the comfort of home, an indoor pool, accessibility of walks on the door step, good location for easy driving to Torquay and walking distance to a local pub. The Honey Bag cottage provided all of our requirements in abundance. The cottage itself is first rate with all the facilities and comfort of being at home. The pool is heated and has great facilities included (pool table, many many children’s games and activities).
We mainly used the facility as a home base to hike the surrounding countryside. We did a lot of exploring and found lovely walks, pub cuisine and marvellous countryside right on the doorstep.
This was our wedding anniversary break so we dined a few times in Torquay and the rest at The Bickley Mill Restaurant/pub. The Bickley is just a 10 minute walk downhill going, but more like 20 coming back, but you’ll find the dining and outside sitting areas well worth the visit.
At the end of the day we couldn’t have found a more perfect accommodation for our anniversary week away. It was simply outstanding.
We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2018
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you on Friday and look forward to seeing you again to celebrate another anniversary. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NavyBaby9...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for family breaks”
Reviewed June 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I booked the Long Barn cottage for 12 adults and 5 children to celebrate my mums 60th Birthday this year. There were 4 generations there!
We had an incredible weekend together, with enough room to spread out and not feel as though we were on top of each other. We used the local fish and chip shop one night and that was very nice.
The pool and games area was clean, well equipped and perfect for keeping the whole family (9 months - 90 years!) entertained on a rainy weekend.
Rooms were clean and well maintained, with very comfy beds. Plenty of towels and blankets for the cots that were kindly supplied.
The welcome pack of locally made goodies was a lovely treat and the children's outdoor play area was well used too, despite the rain!
Sandra has thought of everything to make your stay home from home.
Can't wait until I can celebrate my 30th birthday and go back to Long Barn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Thank you Fiona, it is lovely for all the generations to be able to get together and Long Barn is well suited for such events. Look forward to welcoming you back. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea12...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property”
Reviewed June 23, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is my 2 nd time at the longbarn cottages in Devon and absolutely love going there, everything you need and nothing is to much to ask. The owners are very lovely and always there to meet and greet. Accommodation excellent and every little detail thought of upon arrival. J it’s looking to go back again with family. Would definately recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2018
Thank you we try to run it as somewhere we would like to stay with our family.
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidTA8
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation for a family get together.”
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was the second time we have stayed at Long Barn Cottage with three daughters, their husbands and seven grandchildren. The accommodation was ample, the facilities for the children (the games room and the swimming pool) were excellent and had it been in the summer there would have been plenty of room for outdoor activities as well. Thoroughly recommended for an occasion such as we enjoyed.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2018
Many thanks, shame about the weather. Look forward to you visiting us again perhaps when the weather is warmer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola B
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I booked Long barn cottage for 13 people with 2 young children.
The cottage was immaculate and was at a very high standard.
They provided all the bedding and cots with blankets.
Very clean and spacious bedrooms most with either bathrooms or shower rooms ensuite.
The swimming pool was brilliant and the play barn for are party of a teenager and 2 ten year olds and they catered for the three year old and two year old.
Lots of toys , pool table , football table and table tennis.
There was a welcome pack on our arrival contains local products.
I would have no hesitation booking again and highly recommend for any one thinking of booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Many thanks, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebekah90...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Special, beautiful, cottages with exceptional family facilities”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We visited for 3 nights in December/January over New Year, and stayed in the cottage for 2 people with our 17 month old. The cottage was full of facilities suitable for a one year old, such as high chair and stair gate. The cottage was lovely, and had some nice features such as the log burner. The facilities of the cottages are great, with heated pool, barn play room, and some large outside spaces for picnics (summer) and outside park. It's located in a quiet village, but some really nice places to visit nearby and some large towns nearby for food, and super markets. We loved it and would recommend to others, there are 4 cottages in total and it provides total privacy but everyone was so polite and we didn't hear anyone else at any time. Thank you, it was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
Many thanks, pleased you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again in the future, perhaps in the summer when it is a bit warmer.
Happy New Year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDAMFerna...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for our daughter's wedding”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I booked Long Barn about a year ago as a base for our family to get ready for my daughter's wedding. Sandra was very helpful and although the wedding fell at the start of the half term she was happy for us to book for a long weekend. Sandra met us on arrival and was very friendly. The property is equipped with everything you could need and was lovely and warm. The layout was fantastic for a pre wedding family meal for 15 and also for the morning of the wedding when everyone was trying to get ready and make up and photographs were being done. The property is situated in a beautiful very quiet village but is really well located between Newton Abbot and Torquay. We really couldn't have found a better property for such a special weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Many thanks we were only too happy to assist with your special weekend. Shame about the weather on the morning of the wedding but we hope your daughter and her husband will be very happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing