We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation for our family gathering”
other travelers have booked this property
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Long Barn garden Dining lounge to door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Long Barn with Honeybag (sleeps 2)
Long Barn garden
Dining lounge to door
Dining lounge from door
TV lounge
Games room
Kitchen
Super kingsize bedroom with en-suite
Long Barn - Ensuite shower room
Twin bedded room with en-suite
Single room
Long Barn - Family bedroom
Kingsize double room with ensuite bathroom
Long Barn - Ensuite bathroom
Bedroom corridor
Heated indoor swimming pool
Indoor play barn for all the family
Outdoor Adventure Play Area
View of the complex from the paddock
Spend Christmas at Long Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Newton Abbot, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sue190726
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect accommodation for our family gathering”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our family have just returned from a three day break at Longbarn. Our party ranged in age from 83 to 4 and everyone had a fantastic time. Plenty to keep the whole family occupied. We were very impressed with the standard of accommodation provided. Beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean. Would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenbear5
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from our second stay at Long Barn Cottages, situated in a lovely quiet, rural hamlet in South Devon. It feels very countrified, but you're not actually very far from anything. I love this place, it really is perfect in every way! This time we stayed in Hamledown which comfortably sleeps 8 adults. Our cottage was very clean & beautifully furnished & decorated. We received a warm welcome from the owners on arrival & were greeted in the kitchen by a lovely basket of local goodies! The owners really have thought of everything - there are lots of board games, the furniture and beds are comfortable, there's plenty of cutlery & crockery and a fully equipped kitchen, right down to the plentiful supply of dishwasher tablets, kitchen foil & boxes for your picnic sandwiches!
Then there's the play barn. The swimming pool & changing rooms are clean, warm and bookable in hourly slots. For the adults & older children there's also a pool table, table football & a table tennis table. For the younger children there's an indoor play house with an upstairs & lots of ride-ons, pushchairs, cars and not forgetting the outside play area with trampoline, swings & a real boat to have a high sea 'dry' adventure in!
Sadly though, those years are long gone for us & unfortunately our boys had exam revision to do, so were grateful for the Wi-Fi connection (best in the dining room) in between taking swimming & pool breaks. When not swimming with our boys, we just enjoyed the slower & peaceful pace of life & time catching up with my parents. I feel very lucky to have this wonderful place just 90 minutes down the road and we will definitely be regular visitors!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deejay447
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a week here staying in the honey bug cottage. Ideal for two its a very comfortable and well equipped base for touring devon. The cottage itself has everything you need for a quiet week away with comfortable seating and very nice king size bed. kitchen has everything expected from dishwasher to washing machine/dryer. The facilities on offer are very good for all whether a couple or family and the heated swimming pool is a great way to start the day or unwind after a day touring the beautiful countryside and coastline. We particularly like the fact you can book a pool time for your own use. For a base to tour Devon we would highly recommend Long Barn Cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JNotts
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spacious and very well equipped”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as part of a larger party, with the cottage being big enough to all join together, or have your own space. Half of the rooms are en-suite giving additional privacy if needed.
We have a toddler and baby and everything we could need was provided - cot bedding and teddy towels, bath toys, children's crockery and cutlery, stair gate at the top of the stairs, and of course things like high chair and cot. There was even a piano for them to tinkle on.
Outside there is a mini playground and toys, and the indoor pool and play barn were invaluable for rainy spells. Our toddler would have been happy had we spent most of our holiday on site!
Everything is very clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. We didn't need to ask anything but the owners, Mike & Sandra, were ready to help if we needed anything.
Will definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very family friendly outlook of the place
Liked least: Some small country roads to get here!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing cottages”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and i stayed with mike and sandra at longbarn in june 2012 after finding it online.
What a great place they have,an assortment of different sized cottages renovated from
the old dairy farm that was ,and just across from the lovely little cottage we stayed in ( honeybags ) was your own private swimming pool where i spent every morning. ( bookable by the hour ) so had exclusive use, brilliant!
Mike and sandra are a very welcoming and freindly couple and i am sure we will return.Perhaps next time with a few more family members.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the peacefulness of the location,all we could hear was birdsong and the occasional call of the local cockerel.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geraint R
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning....”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cannot fault any part of this holiday. Owners have thought of everything. Lovely accommodation, beautiful area, stunning barn and gardens. Fantastic facilities for children.
Superb holiday.
Will look to return at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$335
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing