We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Me and my boyfriend visited Sampsons Farm when we were on our holiday to Devon, we visited the farm for afternoon tea, it was an absolutely perfect day, everyone was very friendly and helped make our day special. The afternoon tea itself was delicious and all freshly made! We will definitely return if we are in the are again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, General Manager at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
I am very glad that you enjoyed your afternoon tea while you were down this part of the world and I hope that we assisted in making your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    77
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
189
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just had a wonderful night way at Sampsons, set in lovely countryside, it was a lovely relaxed atmosphere, our evening meal was really good and the breakfast was wonderful so nice to see a good selection on offer & especially fresh fruit & real fruit juice, there is no alternative as far as I'm concern. Relaxed friendly and really good food to be recommened . We will be back

Room Tip: Rooms under the Thatch give it the real old style cottage feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hello
Thank you for your great review. We always try and offer a varied breakfast menu as I think it is the most important meal of the day..
Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely relaxed hotel, with a unique welcome from the ducks :) All of the staff, in particular Luke were extremely attentive and accommodating to my needs. Food was delicious and room spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor courtyard room, which had a patio door and balcony with chairs so I could appre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan196504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hello
Luke does a grand job looking after our customers.The rooms with balconys are great especially in the warmer months when you can enjoy the day to day life of all the geese and Chickens and not forgetting the 2 goats ..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Room needs a little tlc, bed uncomfortable, every time we moved it creaked, and the headboard banged on the wall. Again bathroom needs tlc, loo seat wouldn't stay up! and found other peoples hairs present, and take your own towel as it was like trying to dry yourself with a hand towel. Breakfast room again needed decorating, and the breakfast was no more than ok. But staff very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Ring before hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanbuckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hello
thank you for your review. We have an ongoing upgrading programme with the rooms and appreciate your comments..Have not got to the Breakfast room yet but on the list in the coming month..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Sampsons farm was such a surprise......
I travel on business very often and prefer to stay in chain hotels as i know i can get wifi and a good bed and breackfast......however in newton abbott i will always choose sampsons farm as not only has all above but also amazing staff, totally lovely farm setting including goats by my own outdoor balcony!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hello
We need customers to return and always much appreciated.thanks again..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Ga Usa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our family recently wanted to visit Devon. We were intrigued by the descriptions of Sampsons Farm Country Hotel and are we ever delighted that we chose to stay with them! Everything we read was accurate. The hotel is tucked away in a lovely, peaceful farm setting, complete with charming animals and gorgeous views. If you want more excitement, nearby are plenty of bustling places to visit, such as the lovely Devon coast towns. Also convenient is Dartmoor, if you crave the vast stretches it offers.
Best of all, Sampsons Farm is a destination in itself. Nigel and Sarah Bell are such wonderful hosts and their staff are all delightful. Breakfast each morning was marvelous, and dinner was expertly cooked and absolutely delicious. They were wonderful to direct us to interesting places to visit, and truly made us feel like very special friends rather than just hotel customers.
We all enjoyed visiting the adorable farm animals, which include cows, various ducks and amazing chickens, and especially the two pygmy goats, Basil and Rocket. We felt so refreshed and invigorated after our three day stay we plan to return again and stay longer.
And we must mention the amazing watercolour talent of Sarah--we kept noticing beautiful and vibrant watercolour paintings in our apartment and around the main house and learned that Sarah is a world-class watercolourist. She does workshops for those interested and I can't wait to schedule some classes with her.
Our family left really feeling as though we were parting from dear friends--the genuine warmth and gracious hospitality make Sampsons Farm the perfect place to relax and enjoy a beautiful holiday!!

Room Tip: We chose the Teingrace Suite which had two spacious bedrooms, full kitchen with washing machine, a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hello
WOW what can I say, many thanks and I do agree with you ' Sarah is a world class artist' and I am so lucky that I am married to her..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fantastic friendly and caring family run hotel, there was not a single thing to find fault with. The room in the old farmhouse was a bit quirky as you would expect but it was immaculately clean, peaceful and comfortable. The hosts and staff were very attentive, accommodating, helpful and most importantly friendly and welcoming. Luke, Nigel and the lovely lady from Teignmouth [sorry can't remember your name] immediately made us feel at home and found time to chat and cheer us up. Only had breakfast there and that filled us up for the day, compliments to the chef [Nigel]. We were on a 'working' break but Sampsons is well situated for walks , towns and drives to beaches. Certainly hope they can fit us in again next time we make a 'flying' trip to Devon. Thank you so much for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigelbell, Owner at Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
hi
Thanks for your review and comment. it is so important for me that customers feel special and go away thinking that they have benn well looked after..
Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Property: Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel Newton Abbot, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing